• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Books to Be Read in 2008

Semicolon is hosting her usual Saturday Review of Books, only this week she gives special instructions to link a book list which details the books you read in 2007, your favorites from 2007, books you want to read in 2008, or some combination thereof.  I had already planned to do this, but this challenge gave me the motivation I needed to get it done today!  Here is my TBR list for 2008:

Classics

The Adventures of Huckelberry Finn

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

The Catcher in the Rye

Cry, the Beloved Country

Les Miserables

A Tale of Two Cities

Newbery Award Winners and Honor Books

The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron

Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm

Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson (finished January 2008)

Rules by Cynthia Lord (finished February 2008)

Criss Cross by Lynne Ray Perkins

Whittington by Alan Armstrong

Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

A Corner of the Universe by Ann M. Martin

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

Nonfiction

The Birth Order Book by Kevin Leman (finished 1/3/08)

A Charlotte Mason Companion by Karen Andreola

The Right Choice–Homeschooling by Chris Klicka

Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp

The Well Adjusted Child by Rachel Gathercole

Christian Fiction

Zion Chronicles by Bodie and Brock Thonee

The Key to Zion (finished January 2008)

Zion Legacy by Bodie and Brock Thoene

Jerusalem Vigil

Thunder from Jerusalem

Jerusalem’s Heart

Jerusalem Scrolls

Stones of Jerusalem

Jerusalem’s Hope

A.D. Chronicles by Bodie and Brock Thoene

First Light

Second Touch

Third Watch

Fourth Dawn

Fifth Seal

Sixth Covenant

A Garden to Keep by Jamie Langston Turner

Miscellaneous

The Kommandant’s Daughter by Pam Jenoff

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I tried to keep my list to a manageable length to allow for those extra “gotta read its” that I find at the library or read about on someone else’s blog (the Saturday Review of Books is a good place to find these).  I used to read much more and much more quickly than I read now; having small children really decreases the time and energy I have for such pursuits.  However, I like having a list to keep me on track and going forward.

The books I have listed under classics are books that I have never managed to read in all of my education.  I am a little bit embarrased about this, but I am trying not to let myself get stuck in the embarrassment and guilt and simply rectify the situation. 

The Newbery books are obviously the winners from the past few years.  Because I was once an elementary schoool librarian, I kept up with children’s literature fairly well.  However, once I became a stay-at-home mom, I got out of the loop.  My goal is to recitfy this this year. 

The nonfiction list is  mainly comprised of books on parenting that I’ve wanted to read and have actually purchased but have simply not committed to reading.  I enjoy reading fiction so much more than nonfiction, but I do want to glean what usefulness I can from these.  I also have a few homsechooling titles thrown in because I am thinking about homeschooling.  (Gasp!  I can’t believe I said that aloud wrote that on my blog!) 

 The Christian fiction list is mostly made up of Bodie and Brock Thoene books I haven’t read.  I love their books, but I often get bogged down in the historical detail.  I am going to make a concerted effort to read these because I do feel that these series books are best read in quick succession.

The miscellaneous titles are books I’ve read about elsewhere I just want to read for myself. 

There you have it–more books that I can probably read in a year.  Now I need to finish up here and head off to the library to see what I can find. . .

Happy reading!

Please excuse the strange formatting.  I cannot get wordpress to cooperate with me at the moment!

7 Responses

  1. Great list! I would like to read more classics. I generally just kind of read whatever my book club reads and a few others here and there.

    The Kite Runner is an amazing, life changing book, by the way. Make sure you get to it.

  2. Second Touch is one of my all time favorite books. It’s in my top 5. The whole time I was reading it, I kept seeing how I was a leper, outside the Israelite camp (symbolically speaking), until my “skin was washed” by the son of God…I hope you find it as thought provoking as I did.

    Homeschool! You’ll love it. And the Kite Runner is a wonderful, but painful read. Brace yourself.

  3. I’m not sure how to give you appropriate advice on TKR. I know what you mean about guarding your heart. I once read a book all my “Christian” girlfriends recommended and I swear, I’ve been traumatized for life by that book and I wish to God I had researched it better because I can never get those images out of my mind. TKR is about redemption and agape love, but has some very painful, realistic horrible scenes involving some very wicked people doing very wicked things to others. I don’t want to give it away. I can’t discourage anyone from reading it, just be mindful that it is very disturbing in places.

  4. Hey,

    I recently read The Catcher in the Rye and put some thoughts up about it here:

    http://michaelkrahn.com/blog/2008/01/06/the-catcher-in-the-rye/

    Take a look if you’re interested.

  5. […] Maud Montgomery books I’ve never read.  My TBR list for January 2009 alone almost rivals my TBR list for the year of 2008! […]

  6. […] hectic and I really didn’t have time.  I made the time, and I am so glad.  I liked having a formal TBR list, too, because although I varied from it often enough, it at least gave me something to fall back on […]

  7. […] To Be Read — hopeistheword @ 5:27 pm Considering that there were thirty-seven books on my TBR list for 2008 and I only read fourteen from the list, I have decided to pare down my list for 2009.  When I […]

Leave a comment