• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Bookish Plans for 2009

hous2a-00048_byoung-puritan-woman-reading-while-spinning-at-her-wheel-postersConsidering that there were thirty-seven books on my TBR list for 2008 and I only read fourteen from the list, I have decided to pare down my list for 2009.  When I consider, too, that I actually managed to read as many books as I had on that 2008 list, only I just went off on a tangent and read whatever suited my fancy at the time, I think this is an exceptionally good idea.  Taking a cue from Sarah at A Library Is a Hospital for the Mind, I am going to make a short list of the works I really, really want to read this year.  However, because I am who I am and I cannot make things too simple for myself (alas!  alack!), I will also list some projects like Sherry at Semicolon.   (I do hope these fine bloggers will remember that as Anne Shirley once averred,  “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.”)

And so, without further ado, here is a list of books I really want to get to in 2009:

1.  Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

2.  A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

3.  Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas

4.  Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas

5.  Authentic Faith by Gary Thomas

6.  As many Wendell Berry books as I can manage

7.  Winter Birds by Jamie Langston Turner

8.  Some Wildflower in My Heart by Jamie Langston Turner

Really, that’s all that comes to mind right now.  However, I have several projects spinning around in my brain that also need to be noted:

lmm-challenge L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge hosted by Carrie at Reading to Know:

I am reading Jane of Lantern Hill for this challenge, but when I finish it, I might try to sneak in something else.  This challenge lasts through January.

Semicolon Book Club

January:  Heaven by Randy Alcorn or Heaven:  Your Real Home by Joni Eareckson Tada.  I’ll probably read the latter.

February:  The Love Letters by Madeleine L’Engle

March:  John Adams by David McCullough

April:  Paradise Lost by John Milton

May:  The Underneath by Kathi Appelt

June:  David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

July:  River Rising by Athol Dickson

August:  Hamlet by William Shakespeare

September:  Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor

October:  Scoop by Evelyn Waugh

November:  A Walk with Jane Austen by Lori Smith

Book Club at Well Trained Mind Message Board

I hang out at these forums sometime, and so I decided to try to join in on some of the bookish fun.  January’s pick is The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton.

Various Challenges and Just Plain Old Bookish Fun at Five Minutes for Books

I’ve recently become acquainted with this site, and although I have not had time to plumb its depths, it looks like a lot of fun.  I hope I can get in on some of the action this year.

Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers Program

I signed up to be a part of this, and although I’ve gotten off to a slow start, I anticipate staying with this project in 2009.  My first review will hopefully follow in the next few days.

I’m sure I’ve left something out.  Now, if I could just read all day long every day, I might get this accomplished.

7 Responses

  1. There are some nice books listed for the book club. Enjoy!

  2. […] Book Club and various 5 Minutes for Books challenges, not to mention my own rather copious TBR list.  In January I have also participated in the L.M. Montgomery Reading Challenge, and I might even […]

  3. […] Reading They Shall See God has made me realize that I might be missing something by ignoring much of the Christian fiction that is being published.  I will definitely add the rest of his novels to my TBR list! […]

  4. […] Fiction , Christian Fiction 0 Comments Jamie Langston Turner is an author I put on my TBR list back in December of last year.  I loved A Garden to Keep (read my review here); in fact, it made […]

  5. […] for the Semicolon Book Club.  Other than that, I might try to tackle something else on my TBR list.   It’s more likely that I’ll just read as the spirit moves me.  I like […]

  6. […] the Big Book Push is for you. Over the course of the month of November, I will be revisiting my TBR list for 2009, and I am inviting you to join me.  Here’s what you […]

  7. […] (I find myself doing that fairly often, actually.)  I picked it up again since it is on my TBR list for the year, so it one of my Big Book Push books for the month.  I’ve enjoyed everything […]

Leave a Reply

