• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Read Aloud Thursday

For this week’s Read Aloud Thursday, I’m pulling some favorites off of our own shelves.  Since late last fall, I’ve had a hard time working out a consistent time to go to the library.  I had big plans to go at the end of last week, but then I got sick.  Steady Eddie volunteered to take back our stack, and he let the girls pick out a handful of books.  Their choices?  Lots of Berenstain Bears and some Christmas books.  🙂  While I have nothing against the Bears (in moderation, of course!) and you know that I love Christmas books, I just didn’t think either of those were exactly what I wanted to share on this third Read Aloud Thursday of January 2010.  However, this does give me the perfect opportunity to mention a few titles that I’ve wanted to highlight for a while.
I picked up Q Is for Duck:  An Alphabet Guessing Game by Mary Elting and Michael Folsom at some homeschooling conference last year, but it was only this week that I pulled it out to read in earnest to the girls.  It’s a fairly sophisticated concept, really, and I didn’t think they’d get it last year.  The concept behind the book is that it’s a series of twenty-six riddles, one for each letter of the alphabet.  The catch is that they’re quite . . . unexpected.  I’ll let you figure that out from the title.  Lulu, in particular, seemed to grasp the concept this time around, and it was a hit.  Jack Kent‘s illustrations are bright and graphic–almost Dr. Seuss-ish (without the weird looking animals).  This is a fun read-aloud with a different twist, for sure.  There’s probably some kind of lesson that could be pulled from it, too, but Read Aloud Thursday is all about enjoyment.  🙂


I’m really riding Janet‘s coattails with this next one.  Back in June, Janet featured A Fly Went By by Mike McClintock in a Read Aloud Thursday post, and I immediately filed that title away on my mental “keep an eye out for this title” list.  A few months later at a huge local children consignment sale, I hit the jackpot.  A Fly Went By was grouped with some other I Can Read It All By Myself Beginner Books (you know, the ones with the Cat in the Hat up in the corner), and when I saw it I’m pretty sure I probably gasped.   (I always wonder when I purchase a group of say, five books for one dollar if the seller has any idea just how valuable the treasure is that she’s getting rid of.  I doubt it.)  This book is pure delight, in that “House That Jack Built” kind of way. Fritz Siebel‘s illustrations are retro-looking (the book was first published in 1958, which I suppose qualifies it to be a Vintage Find) and they show lots of movement, which is perfect for this breathtaking tale.  Read Janet’s wonderful summary and explication to get a feeling for the book , and then keep your eyes open–you never know when you might hit the jackpot!  🙂

Well, folks, that’s it for today.  Never fear–we have a brimming book basket once again, along with a directive from our children’s librarian to read at least fifty titles to build our penguin for this year’s winter reading program (we built a snowman last year), so I’ll have plenty more to share next week. 

What’s in your library basket this week, or what favorites have you pulled off the shelf?  Do share!

Powered by MckLinky

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

Have a fantastic Read Aloud Thursday!

6 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying A Fly Went By! And what a treasure at that price. Thanks for linking me.

    Never heard of Q is for Duck, but I’m definitely intrigued. Going to look for it.

    My post today is on an old favorite: Bill Peet.

  2. We learned about A Fly Went By from Janet as well and instantly fell in love with it. I can’t believe you found it at a consignment sale!

    I’m also interested in Q is for Duck. I think Rocko would really get a kick out of that one.

  3. Glad you found a copy of A Fly Went By! =D (Yes, I hear you gasping and have mimicked that many times over myself!) It’s a wonder some people let the books go at the prices that they do. Yet I’m grateful!

  4. A Fly Went By has been one of my grandaughters’ favorites. The youngest is ten now, and we still enjoy it sometimes! Thanks for reminding me. I’m going to pull it out for this week-end.

  5. A Fly Went By! does look like a great find. Book treasure hunting is so much fun. I’m just starting to build our “I Can Read” library and try to pick up inexpensive chapter books as I find them, too.

  6. […] (Live for Your Listening Pleasure) 64. Colleen (Spoiled:Stories) 65. Colleen (Twenties Girl) 66. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Q Is for Duck; A Fly Went By)67. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Bertie’s War)68. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (lots of juvenile […]

Leave a comment