• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall

Do you ever procrastinate on certain books–even books you really want to read?  That’s what I’ve been doing, and that explains why I’ve almost finished two “comfort reads” in the middle of muddling through reading A Tale of Two Cities.  My first “we interrupt this dense classic to bring you a lighter, easier read” novel was The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall.  I read and enjoyed The Penderwicks earlier this year, so I was eager to revisit them, and besides, I needed to read a book by a “B” author to keep up with my own personal Reading My Library challenge.

I think I like The Penderwicks on Gardam Street even better than the series’ inaugural title The Penderwicks.  In the second book, the Penderwicks are (obviously) on their native turf of Gardam Street.  I enjoyed reading about this endearing family in their own home.  I also think it helped me get to know them better; while reading the first book, I was always mixing up a couple of my sisters (none of whom are alike, actually) in my mind.  After reading The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, their characters are more firmly placed in my mind.  The plot of The Penderwicks on Gardam Street revolves around the girls’ reaction to their widower father’s introduction to the dating scene.  Combine this with a slight coming-of-age element involving the eldest daughter, Rosalind, and a homework-trading fiasco involving the literary Jane and the scientific Skye.  Add to this the ever-lovable Batty and her imaginary friend the Bug Man (who turns out to be neither imaginary nor a friend), and you have a fun, suspenseful, touching story of four half-orphans who are making it just fine without a mother, thankyouverymuch.  Of course, the ending is predictable, but satisfying.   

I like this one.  I’m looking forward to reading more of the Penderwicks.

Now, on to the C’s

 

4 Responses

  1. Amy, I’m still working on “Tale of Two Cities”. The antique copy I was reading is fragile and I was scared I was going to damage it, so I went to the library at UNA and got a newer copy to read.
    In the meantime, I’m working on Beth Moore’s Praying God’s Word and The Shack, ( I am apparently the last person in the world to read this one).
    Blessings!

  2. Well, I’ve never read The Shack, either. You’ll have to let me know what you think. I’m just not sure I’d like it or “get” it.

    I do have a book you need to read, though! 🙂

  3. This – and the first book – is one of our favorite read-alouds of all time! We are anxiously waiting for book three.

  4. […] didn’t like.  Some Wildflower in My Heart, though, just hit the spot.  I referred to it in this post as a “comfort read,” which might be a little strange, given some of the subject matter […]

Leave a comment