• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Big Book Push Gone Bust

Did I say that?  Well, it’s true.  My end-of-the-year brain child, the Big Book Push, was a bust.  The only book I read this month that was actually on my TBR list for this year is the Jamie Langston Turner selection Winter Birds (my thoughts here).  Oh, and I’ve also finished Turner‘s beautiful novel Some Wildflower in My Heart, but I haven’t written it up yet.  I’ve just been savoring it.  My two big failures are A Tale of Two Cities and my plan to read something, anything by Wendell Berry.  I just stalled out in the middle of Two Cities.  I haven’t given up on it entirely, but there’s no way I’m going to finish it before November’s out.  😉  I like the idea of trying to finish it in audiobook, if only I can motivate my lazy tired self to go to the library to check it out.  I actually had decided on Nathan Coulter as my next selection by Berry, but for some reason, my order got hung up at Amazon.  I think it was the Thanksgiving book I was trying to order.  Although the Thanksgiving book was purportedly “in stock,”  it became more and more obvious that we weren’t going to get it by Thanksgiving.  I attempted to cancel the order, but it ended up that I could only cancel certain books (Nathan Coulter being one of them).  I ended up with a set of easy phonics readers for Lulu, but no Wendell Berry.  Bah. Oh well.  It’s just as well.  I probably would’ve gotten sidetracked by other, easier reads, anyway.  (Reviews forthcoming, I promise!)

Someone remind me not to undertake a big project of any kind when I’m dealing with the first trimester of pregnancy!  🙂

Have any of you succeeded in whittling down your TBR list lately?  Do share!

2 Responses

  1. I look forward to reading your review of Some Wildflower. I tried Winter Birds, but the child abductions/murders took me by surprise, and I set it aside for now. Maybe I’ll psyche myself up to try it again.

    I’ve attempted A Tale of Two Cities several times. It’s not bad or even difficult, but for some reason, I always stall and put it aside.

Leave a Reply

