• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

What’s on My Nightstand–April Wrap-up and Looking Ahead

nightstandIt looks like I read and reviewed a grand total of four books during the month of April that I read for my own enjoyment or edification.  That brings me up to sixteen for the year.  While there’s a chance I’ll finish one more before the month’s end, that’s not a big stack of books.  I thought I read more than that.  It has been a very busy month, so I guess that’s pretty good.  Of course, that doesn’t include the many, many, many books I read to my girls.  I have long since given up updating that list.  We enjoyed a few chapter books together, as well, including Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Magic and Ribsy, and we’re in the middle of a re-reading of Charlotte’s Web.

My favorite work of fiction for the month of April was The Suncatchers. I pulled this Jamie Langston Turner novel off the shelf on a whim and out of a need for a comfort read, and I’m so glad I did.  I must mention again, too, the nonfiction book I read this month, Change Your Heart, Change Your Life by Dr. Gary Smalley.  It has been a long time since a book resonated so strongly with me.

For May, I don’t have too many specific plans.  I’m enjoying this laissez-faire approach to reading, Les Miserables notwithstanding.  I do plan to read The Penderwicks for the Children’s Classics challenge and The Underneath for the Semicolon Book Club.  Other than that, I might try to tackle something else on my TBR list.   It’s more likely that I’ll just read as the spirit moves me.  I like that.

Do you want to read more Nightstand posts?  Click over to 5 Minutes for Books!

12 Responses

  1. Enjoyed your review on Gary Smalley’s book. Going to check out The Underneath. Happy reading.

  2. Love the cover of the book – I’ll have to look into that one!

    Happy reading!
    Jolanthe

  3. Hadn’t heard of The Underneath. I like the cover art though and if it’s to read with Sherry @ Semicolon I’ve no doubt of its goodness.

  4. p.s. Thank you for the prayers!

  5. You are going to LOVE the Penderwicks. Love. Love. Love. (And there is a sequel). 🙂

  6. I’m impressed that you’re attempting Les Mis … LOVE all the kids’ books, too. Can you finish Charlotte’s Web without crying? I never can. Thanks for sharing!
    Susan

  7. Change Your Heart, Change Your Life by Dr. Gary Smalley sounds especially interesting. (I’m primarily a non-fiction reader!).

    This month, I read 2 “green-themed” books and one on handling meltdowns.

  8. I love visiting your blog. I’m trying to blog more about my reading…sometimes the actual “writing” is what holds me up – so much to say, such a lack of eloquence! (I’m hoping that comes the more I read!)

    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Monica

  9. I like reading whatever, whenever, too. My church started a book club in the fall, but it appears to have fizzled, and I’m glad to have even that one small obligatory read crossed off the list for each month. Reading is one of the few recreational pursuits available to me in this phase of life, and I like keeping it free.

    Interesting list. I think 4 books a month is pretty good!

  10. Congrats on your perseverance through Les Mis! I did the self-abridging thing, too. I did read the last couple of pages of the Waterloo section and most of convent one, but I completely skipped the Parisian sewer chapter. I did enjoy the book, though!

  11. Great list. We’ve just discovered Mrs. Piggle Wiggle. 🙂

  12. We LOVED “The Penderwicks” here, and as Stephanie mentioned, there is a sequel that was published within the last year. Enjoy those! I love your blog – it is interesting to see what other people are reading on their own and aloud to their kids. I especially enjoy reading longer chapter books to my young children. It’s a good experience for us all, and a great way for me to read some of the classics I have not previously read.

Leave a comment