• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney

I mentioned last week that I am beginning a list of my favorite picture books of all timeBarbara Cooney’s Miss Rumphius is the book that inspired me to do this.  This book is a perfect, heart-warming, gentle story about a girl who grows to be a woman and finally makes her mark on the world.  Miss Alice Rumphius achieves the two things she desired to do with her life before she reached her latter years, but it is only when she is past her prime that she finally fulfills the comission that her grandfather gave her.  What is it?  I won’t spoil the beautiful message of this book for those who haven’t read it, but truly this one is not to be missed.  It is heart-warming and inspiring for every age.

7 Responses

  1. Yes, this book is a lovely story.
    I found so many wonderful picture books by doing B4FR and Five In A Row with my girls.

  2. We just read this book for the first time recently and I definitely want to add this to my bookshelf! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely look for this one.

  4. I love this book, and I hope to grow lupines someday soon! Unfortunately, my 5-year-old daughter isn’t as enthralled with it as I am, but I hope it grows on her over time. Maybe it will be one she remembers when she’s grown up!

  5. Adore this book. It’s in our “keep forever” box of books. Well, one of the keep forever boxes.

  6. […] stories should.  The illustrations are by the wonderful Barbara Cooney, author/illustrator of Miss Rumphius, which just might be one of the most perfect picture books of all time.    If you like rich, […]

  7. […] (Your Jesus Is Too Safe)4. Semicolon (Three Men in a Boat)5. Homespun Light (When We Were Saints)6. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Miss Rumphius)7. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (My Side of the Mountain)8. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (picture books for Read […]

Leave a comment