• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Best Picture Books

I’ve decided it’s time for a new feature here on my blog. I spend a large portion of my time nowadays reading and thinking about picture books, so I want to start a list of my favorite picture books of all time. I’m creating a page for it and I will add to it as books cross our path or I think of ones I haven’t highlighted.  I don’t have any hard and fast criteria for what makes the list.  This books will contain both old and new titles.  Many of them will be award winning books, but some might be little known.  They must resonate with me as a reader, with my children (at least a little bit), and they must each seem like a book that will stand the test of time.  I am not including longer works that also include pictures (like A.A. Milne’s books, etc.)–this will strictly be picture books in the true sense of the word.

There are several books I’ve already written up here that fit this category.  They are

We read a lot of picture books, but every once in a while, we read one that I don’t want to forget.  This list is as much for me as it is for anyone, but if you can use it, I’m glad.  🙂  Look for new additions in the coming weeks!

 

2 Responses

  1. THis list is a great idea. I’m working up a list of my own for the same purposes. And I’m glad to have a reference as to what you like!

  2. […] Published August 10, 2009 Best Books , Picture Books Leave a Comment I mentioned last week that I am beginning a list of my favorite picture books of all time.  Barbara Cooney’s Miss […]

Leave a Reply

