• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Bloggy absenteeism

youth-campWe had a lovely Friday and Saturday at a Bible quiz meet with some of the children from our church (at our state convention center, pictured above).  Then, on Sunday, it was the usual Sunday School, Sunday worship service, grab a bite for lunch, get the girls down to rest, back to church for Easter drama practice, and then practice with aforementioned children again since they advanced to the state tournament to take place in two weeks!  Whew!  Is it any wonder, then, that I missed several exciting happenings (like this and this and this) in blogdom this weekend?  Truthfully, this is the time of year when life begins to come at me faster than I can possibly keep up.  Between church and community commitments, I barely get the laundry done.  Perhaps it is time for me to consider following the lead of Sherry at Semicolon and taking an annual Lenten blog break.  At any rate, if you are a regular reader, please don’t give up on my blog!  ; )   I will get back to regular posting, but it probably won’t be until after Easter.  Read Aloud Thursday, however, will go on as scheduled!  Other posts will happen if I have time.

And while I’m discussing bloggy matters, I don’t think I’ve ever asked my regular readers (if I have more than the one or two I already know) to introduce themselves.  This is a great day to do that–it would encourage me in my bloggy frustration!  ; )  Let the de-lurking begin!

13 Responses

  1. Well, you know I’ll be around whenever . . .

  2. Thanks, Carrie! : )

  3. […] on My Nightstand for April March 24, 2009 at 4:52 am | In Challenges, To Be Read | With blogging time at a premium, I almost skipped What’s On Your Nightstand this month, but I just couldn’t bear to not […]

  4. Okay, I’ll be first to confess my lurking. I check your blog almost daily for recommendations. Thanks to you, my older kids read a whole stack of Gloria Whelan books last week. Unfortunately, those put me over my check-out limit, so the huge pile of Michael Dahl books that I had on hold had to wait.

    Ref your later post, I am trying to think of a good dog story. I didn’t really like Sounder. It’s one of those books that has too much symbolism and analysis for me. Can’t a guy just write a book, without having it examined under a microscope? lol. My daughter just piped in with, “All the Jim Kjelgaard books!” She is a dog-book lover.

    Lastly, I wanted to recommend Redwall, by Brian Jacques, and ask you, have you ever read Swallows and Amazons, by Arthur Ransome?

    Apologies for the catch-all comment. :o)
    Sally

  5. Oh, Sally, I’m SO glad you delurked!!!

    I haven’t read Sounder in so long that I don’t remember much about it. However, perhaps because I am an English teacher, I often find that I LIKE the over-done symbolism, etc, that other people find too contrived. It’s sad but true. ; )

    I do remember having a copy of Big Red by Kjelgaard when I was a teen, but I don’t think I ever read it. I’ll take your daughter’s recommendation, though!

    I haven’t read Redwall or Swallows and Amazons, but if you’re recommending them, I’ll definitely add them to my TBR list!

    Again, I’m SO GLAD you commented!

  6. Must clarify — I have not read Swallows and Amazons yet, because I haven’t been able to locate a copy locally. I checked on the author, and he was, oh don’t quote me because my memory is awful, but I recall he was a communist and a tree-hugger. I was curious about his philosophy coming out in his writing for kids. If I find it, I’ll let you know what I think. 🙂

    But Redwall, yes, that is a must-read!

  7. Sally–got it! ; )

  8. Hello. I’m a regular reader. You knew that, right? 🙂 Haven’t been around in about a week though.. but I’m still here!

  9. Michelle,

    Thanks for de-lurking (again!). It’s so great to have you here!

  10. I have wondered that to about a blog break, but I think I’m going to wait and take some time off this summer … and use my blog time for gearing up for school with my soon-to-be kindergartener. Ack!

  11. Stephanie,

    Well, obviously, my blog break isn’t really working.

    I’ve got to get my act together for my own K’er next year!

  12. Hi there!

    I have your blog in my reader and usually get a chance to catch up about once a week.

    I really clicked though to say, I did Bible Quizzing when I was a teen. I loved it so much. I love to hear about others doing it!

  13. […] It’s that time of year again, folks.  Things get C-R-A-Z-Y around these parts just before Easter, primarily due to several […]

Leave a comment