• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand for April

nightstandWith blogging time at a premium, I almost skipped What’s On Your Nightstand this month, but I just couldn’t bear to not participate.  I think I’m hooked.  : )

I will, however, try to make this brief, especially since I still haven’t finished Les Miserables, so really, that should be all that’s on my nightstand this month.

But it’s not.  : )

Since I offered the suggestion of dog stories for the Children’s Classics carnival at 5 Minutes for Books and that is what was chosen for the month of April, I sort of feel like I should participate.  ; )  Actually, I’m looking forward to delving back into a book or two from my childhood for this challenge.  My all time favorite dog story is Where the Red Fern Grows, but I’ve decided to go back and read a story that I only vaguely remember from my childhood:  Sounder.  I actually began reading it back a few weeks ago while I stood in an interminably long line at a children’s clothing consignment sale (I picked the book up out of a book basket at the sale for $1), but I haven’t gotten back to it yet.  It’s a fairly short story, so reading it shouldn’t be a problem, though.  If I have any extra time (or motivation), I might also re-read Where the Red Fern Grows or something else.

Something very exciting happened to me because of Hope Is the Word back a month or so ago:  a publicist at Simon and Schuster contacted me about reviewing an ARC (Advanced Reader’s Copy) of a new children’s book coming out this year!  The book is Dessert First by Hallie Durand.  I plan to finish reading this fun story and review it in April.  Hey, I might even do that before March is over!

I have had The Memory of Old Jack by Wendell Berry on my nightstand for about five months now, I guess.  It is on loan from the community college where I sometimes teach, and the librarian was kind enough to renew it for me last semester to the end of this current semester.  Since the semester will end in May, I really should bump it up a position or two on my TBR list.  Janet’s comment that reading this book “marked a turning point in her life” makes me really want to read it, and I think April is the month for it.

Of course, my record for reading what’s actually on my nightstand is pretty dismal, so stay tuned to find out if I manage to do it this time!

For more Nightstand posts, visit 5 Minutes for Books!

6 Responses

  1. I loved Sounder and re-read it every few years!

  2. Yes, just as soon as I’m done with Around the World in 80 Days I’ll be hitting up a dog story. I read Where the Red Ferm Grows when I was growing up but I haven’t read any other dog stories. What’s your top recommendation?

  3. Carrie,

    Well, I LOVE Where the Red Fern Grows, as I already said. Have you read Shiloh or Because of Winn Dixie? Those are good, too. Really, I don’t think I’ve read a dog story I didn’t like.

  4. Pick a border collie one! 😉

    Good luck with Les Mis, and all your other commitments. If you do read Old Jack, I’ll love to hear what you thought…

    Love your new look! Very clean and light.

  5. Oh, Les Miserables is still on my nightstand as well… it probably will be there until summer what with all the other books crowding it out!

    The new kids’ book you mention– Dessert First– looks cute!

  6. The dog stories sound interesting; I guess I was more into reading about horses when I was growing up. I’ll have to check those out!

    I’m just now catching up with the WOYN posts and am actually doing a giveaway as part of mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

