• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

The Gift of Psalms

The Word of Promise the Gift of Pslams is more than just a book of devotions; it is a book of devotions “from fifty of the best loved Psalms” and a “dramatic audio theater presentation” of some of those Psalms.  It is the latter part of this package that is the most appealing to me.  Although the book itself is nice in a gift-booky-thanks-but-this-isn’t-meant-to-be-read kind of way (does anyone besides me feel this way about gift books?), the CDs make it worthwhile.  The Psalms and devotions are read by a megawatt cast of actors including Jesse McCartney, Michael York, Gary Sinise, Richard Dreyfuss, Stacy Keach, Harry Hamlin, and others.  Although I wouldn’t necessarily consider the devotions as anything particularly challenging or earth-shaking, they are thought-provoking and God-honoring.  Listening to the audio version of this set reminded me of the word selah–to “pause and calmly think of that.”   I know I can always use more selah-moments in my life, and listening to or reading this particular devotional set would be a great way to incorporate more such moments into one’s day.

I reviewed this book for the Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers program.

2 Responses

  1. “a gift-booky-thanks-but-this-isn’t-meant-to-be-read kind of way (does anyone besides me feel this way about gift books?)”

    Yes! Great description. 🙂 I never feel allowed to get rid of them, either. This one sounds good, though.

    I tagged you for a meme, if you care to play.

  2. […] breeze (Irreplaceable)42. Mo (Backstabber)43. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Kirby Larson interview!)44. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (The Gift of Psalms)45. Just One More Book! Children’s Book Podcast (There’s a Babirusa in my Bathtub)46. […]

Leave a comment