• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand for March

nightstandUnfortunately, it looks like Les Miserables is still going to have a prominent place on my nightstand for the month of March.  I truly, truly, truly wanted to get it read for the Classics Bookclub at the beginning of March, but it’s just not happening.  I’m enjoying it, but life has gotten in the way of the hard, concentrated reading this book is requiring.  I will not let this derail my plan, though.  I want to read it before the summer so I’ll understand the musical better, so I’ll just keep plugging away.

After I finish Les Miserables, I am giving myself the month off to read whatever strikes my fancy.  I would love to read The Invention of Hugo Cabret and maybe some good young adult fiction.  I’m not making any specific plans, though.  I think I deserve to browse my own TBR shelf and the library stacks after finishing Les Miserables.

(By the way, don’t forget about this very exciting bloggy development here at Hope Is the Word!)

What’s on your nightstand for March?

8 Responses

  1. I’m wondering if you’re like me — a one-book-at-a-time person. I know for certain that I wouldn’t be able to tackle a book like ‘Les Miserables’ alongside any others.

    Good luck finishing it up, after which I agree that you deserve to browse your shelves for some pure pleasure.

  2. Am I a horrible person for not even bothering to attempt Les Mis? I just can’t get up any motivation for it. Good luck with it!

  3. Note to self: Les Mis will not get read if I don’t pick it up off the shelf. 🙂 Good for you on working your way through it. I think it is scaring me!

  4. =D I currently do not believe I’m going to re-read all of Les Mis. My immediate plan is to do a character study. I’m just lacking in time, which is unfortunate as I really love the book! And I totally hear you about giving yourself some time off after reading it! =) It’s a project, that one, but fun!

  5. I have a hard time juggling books too. I’ve never read Les Mis…then again I’ve had Jane Eyre sitting on my bookshelf unfinished for a while now. I need to tackle that!

  6. Good luck finishing up Les Mis.. it scared me off I hope to try it sometime but the size is very imtimidating :-P. Have fun reading whatever you would like after finishing that big one 🙂

  7. I know — Les Mis was a HUGE undertaking. I am glad I reread it though.

    As I said in the Preview questions, even if you haven’t finished (by the end of the week maybe), I hope you’ll still join in.

  8. I am working (reading) my way through Les Mis too!

Leave a Reply

