• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Children’s Classics by Patricia M. St. John

childrensclassicsLet me preface this post by saying that it is completely off-the-cuff.  I do not have a children’s classic that I have recently read about which I can write (aside from the various read-alouds that we do together at the House of Hope, but of course, those already have posts dedicated to them).  Instead, then, I am taking a stroll down memory lane to my own childhood and posting about an author whose books I still remember to this day (and I’m ahem approaching what might be called middle age).

I attended a small, private Christian school for a few years in upper elementary school.  This gave me exposure to some authors that I probably would have never encountered otherwise.  I enjoyed these books so much that I later sought them out, asking for them for Christmas, even ordering some of them myself as a sentimental, book-loving teenager.  They still have a place in my home library.  What are these books?  They are wonderful stories written by Patricia M. St. John.  Here are a few of the ones that really stand out in my mind:

Treasures of the Snow is a story of forgiveness set in the Swiss Alps.

Rainbow Garden is the story of lonely Elaine who goes to live with a Welsh family where she finds the true meaning of “fulness of joy.”

Set in North Africa, Star of Light is the story of a boy’s selfless love for his younger, blind sister.

Patricia M. St. John worked as a missionary nurse for many years, so she writes of different countries and cultures with an experienced hand. To my remembrance, each of her books presents a clear gospel message.  The characters are very endearing and realistic. While I’m sure these are not children’s classics in the broad sense of the word, I do believe they have a prominent place in the sub-genre of children’s Christian fiction.

In writing this post, I have rekindled a long-dormant interest in these books.  I think I might skim over one of these to determine if it is suitable for a future read-aloud for my own girls.

Do you want to read about more children’s classics?  Pop over to the Children’s Classics carnival at 5 Minutes for Books!

**Please note that the books linked here from Amazon are abridged versions, and I cannot speak for them.

***Also please note that I tried and tried in vain to reformat this post so that the books are not arranged in stair-steps.  Forgive me.

8 Responses

  1. These sound awesome! Thank you!

  2. And the stair step is cute.

  3. The stair step works!

    I enjoyed hearing about these books that you remember having grown up with. That’s fabulous.

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. These look like books I would have loved as a child. Thanks for the recommendation!

  5. Thanks for sharing these books. I’ve never read them but I can see how you would become so attached. The stairsteps worked for me. As I was reading I was thinking how clever they looked.

  6. I’ve never heard of these books! Thanks for sharing. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. I read Patricia St. John as a girl, but had forgotten about them. My 3 girls are 5, 3 and 2 and I have just started introducing them to some of my favorite books from childhood – Anne of Green Gables, Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe – I will add these to my reading list with them, thanks for the reminder.

  8. These look good – I’m always looking for book ideas for my 11yo niece. Thanks!

Leave a comment