• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Book Review–For the Tough Times

Title:  For the Tough Times

Author:  Max Lucado

Publisher:  Thomas Nelson

ISBN:  9780849921445

Length:  83 pages

Synopsis:  This gift book is written in Max Lucado’s trademark, inimitable style.  Only eight short chapters in length, this book tackles many of the age-old questions people of faith have always faced:  why do good things happen to God’s people?  Where is God when the bottom falls out in my life?  How should I react when tragedy strikes?  This book is full of hope and consolation in Christ.

My Thoughts: When I retrieved this book off my porch after it was left there by the guy in the big, brown truck, I was surprised at how small and light it was in the package.  When I opened the package, I was even more surprised to see a gift book.  I was actually a little disappointed; I mean, who really reads a gift book?  Add to this the fact that I was in the middle of reading this wonderfully challenging book, and I was not too enthusiastic about reading it.  As a teenager and (very) young adult, I used to devour everything Max Lucado ever published.  I even had the perpetual calendar with quotes from all his books on my dresser.  However, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve lost touch with many of the authors I once read faithfully.  Needless to say, I began For the Tough Times simply out of obligation.  Thomas Nelson had sent it to me, so I was obligated to read and review it.  However, about three chapters into the book, I began to realize that not everything Lucado says in this book is something I’ve heard or read before.  For example, he makes some statements about satan that, although not really groundbreaking, are said in a new way that caused me to think. (He expounds upon Martin Luther’s idea that “the devil is God’s devil.”)  The last couple of chapters deal with hearing God during the times when we think He is silent and our response to the tough times, prayer.  Reading this book is like what I imagine listening to a sermon by Lucado himself would be.  Although I started reading this book out of obligation, I ended with the realization that this is a useful gift book.  In fact, I think I might pass it along to a friend who just lost her husband.  I believe she might find some comfort in it.

I reviewed this book for the Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers program.

2 Responses

  1. I have a friend who is going through some tough times right now. It sounds like she would find some comfort in it. Thank you for your review.

  2. […] (Flygirl)88. bekahcubed (Spoiled Rotten America)89. Presenting Lenore (The Dust of 100 Dogs)90. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (For the Tough Times by Max Lucado)91. Becky (On Church Leadership)92. Becky (Never Say Diet)93. Becky (Nefertiti)94. Becky (I’m […]

Leave a Reply

