• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Book Review–The Key to Zion (The Zion Chronicles Book 5) by Bodie Thoene

key to zion

Title:  The Key to Zion

Author:  Bodie Thoene

Publisher:  Bethany House Publishers

Length:  351 pages

ISBN:  1556610343

Synopsis:  In this carefully-crafted work of fiction, Bodie Thoene has written another installment in the suspenseful Zion Chronicles.  Readers follow well-known and loved characters David and Ellie Meyer as they trek through Europe on the run from pursuers whom they cannot identify.  Will the Zionist intelligence rescue them before their pursuers capture them?  Meanwhile, Moshe and Rachel Sachar fight their own battles back in Jerusalem, although their battle is one of the heart.  Moshe rescues an Arab girl who is about to be executed by her relative because she has been dishonored.  The Arab girl, Sarai, is full of bitterness and hatred because of her ill treatment at the hands of a bunch of Jewish extremists in an attack on her home.  Will Rachel, who suffered so much at the hands of the Nazis, be able to reach her with the love of Christ?  Suspense builds as the fateful date of May 15, 1948, approaches.  As the British prepare to withdraw from Israel, the Arabs and the Jews both seek after their one goal:  to rule the city of Jerusalem.  Thoene shows the faithfulness of God to His word through this gripping story.

My Thoughts:  If you are interested in history, especially World War II-era history, you should read this fabulous series of books.   I really cannot say enough about how tightly written the plots of these books are.  I am amazed over and over again by the intricacies of the plots and how well the Thoenes manage their characters.  My husband and I are both fans of these authors (they write as a husband and wife team), and we often discuss how they manage to connect characters so beautifully.  For example, the series that precedes The Zion Chronicles is The Zion Covenant.  In order to get a full picture, for example, of the history between Moshe Sachar and some of his Arab enemies in The Zion Chronicles, you really have to go back and read from the beginning of The Zion Covenant.  It is often more than I can even keep track of; I feel that I almost need to take notes on the characters because I know they will show up again in future books.  It really is amazing! 

The Key to Zion is my favorite of the entire series.  Perhaps it is because the book culminates in the poignant birth of the nation of Israel, but I found this book to be both heart-breaking and heart-warming.  The story of Sarai, the Arab girl, is a perfect foil against which to see the miracles God has wrought in the heart of Rachel Sachar.  Because the Thoenes never waste a character, either, Sarai has an extremely important role in the overall plot of this story.  I cried when I reached the end.  Although I find all the details in these books to be a little overwhelming at times, I truly enjoy every minute of the ride they take me on.  I cannot recommend these books highly enough!

To read my review of book four in The Zion Chronicles, go here.

3 Responses

  1. I love the Thoenes. I haven’t read this book yet.

  2. […] This book picks up immediately where The Key to Zion left off.  Immediately after the declaration of Israeli statehood, Israel was attacked by its […]

  3. I think that this book was very borring and dull. The author does not do a good job at keeping the reader’s attention. I think that people wiil not like this book

Leave a comment