• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by W. Phillip Keller

My dear mother-in-law gave this gem of a book to me when Steady Eddie and I were dating, and I’m embarrassed to say that it has fallen to the bottom of the TBR pile for over ten years.  That’s bad.  However, I choose to believe that God knew just when I would be most receptive to this book and when I would need it the most.  I read this book over the past couple of weeks, trying only to read a chapter a day, and I believe that I see both myself and the Good Shepherd in a different light than I did before I read it.

Keller writes this book from the perspective of one who has intimate knowledge of sheep and what it means to be a good shepherd.  As a young man, Keller was a sheep rancher, so he has work experience as a shepherd.  He was born and lived part of his life in eastern Africa, so he knows the customs and practices of shephering in the Middle East, as well.  He takes his rich knowledge and applies it to our lives as Christians, and in doing so, he breathes life into a Psalm that has unfortunately become so well-known that it has also become stale and perhaps even meaningless to us.

I think this is a book best read in small portions, no more than a chapter at a time.  This is difficult for me; if I like a book, I want to gorge myself on it in one sitting.  Keller divides this book into twelve chapters; in each chapter, he expounds upon a successive phrase from the 23rd Psalm.  I read this one with a pen in hand, and really, almost everything Keller writes in here is worthy of underlining.  Looking back over my volume, it is difficult for me to even choose just a few quotes to share here.  This book is that rich.

This book was first published in 1970.  If the world needed to be reminded of Christ’s tender love and compassion then, how much more do we need that reminder now?  If you’re going through a rough patch, if you don’t feel tenderly loved and cared for by your Savior, if you have forgotten all the gentle ways He shows His love, read this book. 

Here is but one of the many, many beautifully profound thoughts in this Christian classic:

 It is there that I will discover He only can really satisfy me.  It is He who makes sense and purpose and meaning come out of situations which otherwise could be but a mockery to me.  Suddenly life starts to have significance.  I discover I am the object of His special care and attention.  Dignity and direction come into the events of my life, and I see them sorting themselves out into a definite pattern of usefulness.  All of this is refreshing, stimulating, invigorating.  My thirst for reality in life is assuaged, and I discover that I have found that satisfaction in my Master. 

Thank you, Lord, for these gentle reminders.

7 Responses

  1. My mother-in-law gave us a copy of this a few years ago, too. And like yours, it hasn’t yet made it to the top of my pile. I appreciate your review — it motivates me.

    I have Keller’s ‘Lessons from a Sheepdog’ — perfect for a border collie person. I read a few chapters aloud to the girls recently, and they grasped the spiritual principles because the illustrations are so down-to-earth.

    • I have Lessons from a Sheepdog, too, also given to me by my MIL. I need to bump it up on the TBR stack. 🙂

  2. Going through a rough time, I went to a used-book store and found this little one on the floor beneath the book shelf.Just by Keller’s exploration of psalm 23 and his experience as a sheppherd, I was lifted up from my anguish.

    Sometimes we read so much about Scriptures, about atheism vs Christianity, denomination vs denomination etc…, and get so caught up in this world that, like Keller says, we end up tormented and distracted by spiritual parasites. This exploration of psalm 23 reminded me that I’m in good care.

    Nice blog; I’ll bookmark it. Keep up the nice work!

    Patrick

  3. […] Vision, and Character for the Christian Mother for my daily quiet time reading after finishing this book .  I’ve fallen into the habit of beginning my quiet time with some sort of devotional […]

  4. […] (To Kill or Cure)36. Joy (The Chosen One)37. Dana(2 Days Ruined Healthcare)38. Phyllis (Dakota)39. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by W. Phillip Keller)40. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (The Pirate’s Son by Geraldine McCaughrean)41. Amy @ Hope Is the […]

  5. […] memorable reads last year were “God Reads”–that’s exactly how I feel about A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by W. Phillip Keller.  I just can’t believe I’d had to book around for so long and […]

Leave a comment