• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Book Review–First Light (A.D. Chronicles book 1) by Bodie and Brock Thoene

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Title:  First Light

Authors:  Bodie and Brock Thoene

Publisher:  Tyndale House

Pages:  395

ISBN:  0842375066

Synopsis:  The saga of the centurion Marcus Longinus, Zadok the Chief Shepherd, his orphan boys, and various members of the ruling class of the Roman empire continues in this novel.  It is the first book in the A.D. Chronicles series, but it picks up immediately where the last series, The Zion Legacy, left off (read my review of the last book in that series here).  The most compelling and central story of this novel is that of Peniel, the blind beggar of Nicanor Gate, whose faith paves the way for not only his own healing but also for the resolution of a terrible, bloody feud between two brothers. 

My Thoughts:  This book begins the series that I have longed to read.  In fact, I considered all the books in the Zion Legacy series as “required reading” before I could get to the A.D. Chronicles.  I must say that I am not disappointed, but the truth of the matter is that the real story of the A.D. Chronicles actually began back in the prior series.  In this book, the story of Peniel is a true thing of beauty.  His faith and love for his family and friends, despite their rejection, and his ultimate healing are truly inspiring.  To see the unfolding of the plot and the interweaving of all the details to bring about the climax is amazing.  I often get quite confused by all the details of palace intrigue, but I persevere so that I can get to the good part–the part about Yeshua.  I love how the Thoenes reiterate again and again that “everything [in the Torah] means something.”  I don’t know enough about Jewish history and the details of all the festivals to know how much poetic license they take, but the story really is amazing.

Leave a comment