• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Mathletics

As a member of TOS HomeschoolCrew, my family was given the opportunity to utilize the math website Mathletics on a trial basis.  While we have by no means thoroughly used this resource, my girls have used the kindergarten level of the program.  The kindergarten level of Mathletics covers the following topics:

  • sorting/naming shapes, objects
  • knowing numbers and patterns
  • measurement and money
  • getting ready to add/subtract

The activities do require that either the student be able to read.  The sentences were a little bit above Lulu’s current reading ability, so I had to stand nearby and read the questions aloud to her.  One thing I noticed, too, is that in the sorting/naming shapes activity, there was a lot of repetition and what I would call “open to interpretation” questions.  For example, the question might be, “Which of following object(s) is/are hot?”   Pictured might be a fire, a sun, an apple, an iron, and a fire engine.  I’m not sure whether or not the fire engine entry was deliberate (quite possibly it was), but I thought it was unnecessarily confusing. 

My girls are always happy to use the computer, but overall, I don’t think they were too taken in by Mathletics.  I found it to be a little bit cumbersome to use (for example, the student must first click to submit his answer, and then click to go to the next question) and the graphics are a little bit stilted.  Perhaps as they get older and have more formal math knowledge (and a need for more practice), these things would not be such an issue.  Right now, though, I don’t think that this is how I would choose for them to spend their “screen time.”

To be fair, there are plenty of positives about Mathletics, but they aren’t ones that necessarily appeal to us or apply to our situation right now.  Some of the positives include 

  • it is a way for students to both compete with themselves and others in a safe online community (students sign in but there is no identification of them and they do not communicate with others)
  • there is parental feedback
  • students have the option of redoing exercises they do not master

However, at $59 a year per student, I don’t think I could justify the cost.  Please don’t just take my word for it, though.  Read some reviews from parents of older students to find out if Mathletics might be a good fit in your homeschool. 

I accessed this product free of charge for review purposes.

Leave a Reply

