• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Better Late Than Never

Well, the tree has been packed away for another year, and thanks mostly to Steady Eddie, the house is beginning to look more like a place where people live rather than a giant dumping ground for toys, wrapping paper, and leftover Christmas treats.  However, before Christmas 2009 becomes little more than a faint memory and a few extra pounds on the scales, I wanted to share a few of the handmade items I made this year.  Actually, I’m still in the process of making a few of them, since a few of my far-flung friends and I manage to get together for Christmas whenever, which is actually nice for a person who is often struck by inspiration at the eleventh hour.   

First, the cards.  I actually did make and send these in a timely manner.  😉  However, if you happen to read my blog and normally receieve a Christmas card from me and you did not get one of these, I’m sorry.  My materials (and steam) ran out before I reached the end of my Christmas card list.  All materials are from Stampin’ Up, and the design is not original to me. 

I went to a crop at a friend’s scrapbook store early in December.  (For the uninitiated, a crop is simply a party of sorts in which friends get together and scrapbook.)  This was the first crop I had been to since September, I think, and boy, did I enjoy  myself.  For better or for worse, I also saw something there that caused me to throw all plans to visit Bath and Body Works at the height of the Christmas lotion frenzy out the window and opt for handmade gifts for a few friends and relations.  Now, Steady Eddie would likely argue that this was not less stressful than a run to the mall, but I did enjoy myself in the making of this file folder Christmas organizer.  Never mind the fact that as I told my cousin, the recepient of the gift below, that what she received just might be a one-of-a-kind limited edition.  😉  All ideas and inspiration for this little project come from the site Organized Christmas and this blog, in particular.  Materials are miscellaneous ones I’ve collected over the years. 

I’m actually working on one now for a young friend of mine which won’t be a Christmas planner.  I’m thinking I’ll make it a prayer/memory verse/praise/journaling folder.  A good idea, huh? 

I realize this post is rather anticlimactic, but I’m documenting these projects here for my own good as much as for anyone else’s.  I’m sorry about the size of the photos.  We uninstalled Adobe Photoshop Elements a few months ago, and since then I’ve been attempting to use Picnik.  I like it, but I just haven’t taken the time to figure it out.

This week I’m back in the saddle again, so be watching for some bookish posts!  🙂

5 Responses

  1. Wow! You are quite crafty! I LOVE what you put together! Way impressed. 😉

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh, I love that planner! Good job!

  3. That is SO CUTE!! I love the idea about praises/prayers for that little journal!!

  4. Beautiful work, Amy.

    I’m impressed that your Christmas decor is already put away. We always procrastinate that project until after New Year’s Day (plus, we like to keep the celebrations going as long as possible ;-)).

    • Oh, I feel sort of bah-humbugish when we undecorate so early, but I do LOVE to get back to the routine. Plus, Steady Eddie has 2 weeks off at Christmas, and we always have a mile-long to-do list after it’s all over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

