• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Big Book Push–What I’m Reading

 big-book-push2

I guess it’s about time I declare my intentions for the Big Book Push.  I hope someone out there in bookish blogdom is looking as forward to this as I am–knocking off a few long-ignored TBR titles.  I actually finished the first title off today–look for a review in the next week or so. 

So what do I plan to read next?  Well, I haven’t read anything at all by Wendell Berry this year, so I have that to look forward to.  I’ve read Jayber Crow (my thoughts here) and Hannah Coulter (my thoughts here).  I’m thinking about picking up Nathan Coulter next, ‘though That Distant Land is tempting because I think it might give a real “overview” of Port William.  Then again, I’m not a huge fan of short stories.  We’ll see.

I also have A Tale of Two Cities on my TBR list, and I’m determined to get to it this month.  It’s one of many titles that I’m almost embarrassed I’ve never read.  It has been a great, great while since I’ve read any Dickens, so I’m looking forward to it.

That’s it.  As busy as life is right now, I’ll be doing well to tackle these. 

Anyone else with me on the Big Book Push?

 

5 Responses

  1. I doooo believe I AM now with you in this Big Book Push. I think. ;D I’m hoping to write up my post tomorrow and then I’ll come back and link up! And use your cool button!

  2. Amy,
    You have inspired me to reread “Tale of Two Cities”. I read it in high school a hundred years ago, but my appreciation for literature had changed since then. It
    has been moved from the bookshelf to the table by my bed.
    I have a whole set of Dickens, printed in the 1880s, that I bought at an estate sale a few years back, one of my best “found” treasures.

    • Oh, what a treasure, Wanda! I’m glad my list has prompted you to pick it up. Maybe we need to form our own book club, huh? (Like we both need something else to do, right?)

  3. […] I say that?  Well, it’s true.  My end-of-the-year brain child, the Big Book Push, was a bust.  The only book I read this month that was actually on my TBR list for this year is […]

Leave a Reply

