• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand

nightstandI’m late in getting  my post up this morning, so I’m not going to say much about my reading over the past month.  Instead, I’ll just make a tidy little list with links to my reviews:

I’ve also finished a couple of chapter book read-alouds with my girls:

I’m in the middle of several good books now, both in my personal reading and with the girls.  I’m looking forward to sharing those books here.

As for the upcoming month, this is what I’ve been waiting to share with you all!  🙂  As this year comes to a close, I have realized that there are several books I truly meant to read this year and just haven’t.  The lure of so many fun challenges and the fun of browsing the library shelves makes me think sometimes that a true yearly TBR list is pointless for me.  Still, I think there’s value in setting goals, especially when there are perceived holes in your reading experience, as there are in mine.  So I’m declaring November as the month of the Big Book Push here at Hope Is the Word, and I’m inviting you to play along.  Come back some time between this Friday, October 30, and next Friday, November 6, to link up your own Big Book Push post in which you announce which book(s) you’ve neglected thus far but hope to read in the month of November.  (I’ll try to keep this post up for this week as a sticky if I can figure out how.)  Read and review the book(s) on your blog some time in November, and then come back on Monday, November 30, to link you reviews here.

You know there’s a button for it!  🙂

big-book-push2

And for your sidebar:

big-book-push150

 

The html for these buttons will be available in the Buttons tab above.

The Big Book Push is on!  🙂

(Read more Nightstand posts here.)

8 Responses

  1. What a fun idea! I’ll have to think about whether I have any books in mind that I haven’t gotten to yet. I love your button, too.

    Did I tell you they had ‘Betsy-Tacy’ on audio at the library? I snatched it up for the girls after reading your review! Older Daughter really enjoyed it, but Younger Daughter was frightened by the whole feather episode and stopped listening.

    • Isn’t that funny? I thought some of the imaginative stuff might get my girls, too, but it might’ve been okay with them because we were snuggled up together reading it. (Louise used to have HUGE balloon issues after we read a book about a bear that flew away while holding onto a helium balloon.) I’m glad Older Daughter enjoyed it, at least.

  2. I’ve been wanting to read “She’s Gonna Blow”. Your list looks fun and inspirational.

  3. Yeah, you have an AWESOME button. And I saw this last week and wondered what it was and it’s the life behind my blog that is pushing my decision to just read what I want without setting a goal, if you know what I mean. But I’m happy to post about this anyway. =D And who knows? I may just be “pushing” things off my bookshelves after all…

    But yes, that was my reasonining (as you know).

  4. Okay, I may participate in this, not sure yet, but I have to ask – how do you make such cool buttons and banners?

  5. Thanks, everyone, for all the compliments on the buttons. They are cute, aren’t they? I can’t take credit for them, though.

    Look for a blog post about them soon. 🙂

  6. I’d really like to check out the Helen Keller books. Thanks for your reviews.

  7. […] So, for better or worse, here’s the list of what I’ve reviewed since last month’s Nightstand post: […]

Leave a Reply

