• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Maud Hart Lovelace Reading Challenge

  A Library Is a Hospital for the Mind is hosting a challenge that I am so excited about joining!  The Maud Hart Lovelace Reading Challenge is a challenge to encourage the reading of this beloved author’s works.  Can you believe I’ve never read any of her books?  I don’t think I’d even heard of her until I heard her books mentioned in the movie You’ve Got Mail.  I’m not sure how I missed an author that so many people obviously love, but I’m glad to now finally rectify this situation.  The girls and I are already four chapters into Betsy-Tacy (we’d be much further along if they had their way!), so stay tuned for a wrap-up post some time during the month of October!

9 Responses

  1. Your girls are going to LOVE it (I know they already do). 🙂 Just as an FYI … something happens in chapter 8 that you may or may not want a heads up about (it involves someone dying). I don’t know how your girls would be with that … mine did okay with it, but it was hard for ME to read.

    Enjoy the book. 🙂

    • Thanks, Stephanie. I do get choked up in just about everything we read (really!), so they’re used to it. Lulu can be rather sensitive when things grow intense, so we’ll see how they do.

  2. You know, I’ve never heard of this author either — and I even missed all literary references but Austen in You’ve Got Mail. You’ve raised my curiosity! I’ll have to check this one out.

  3. I had never heard of the Betsy-Tacy books until You’ve Got Mail, either. I liked the series.

    YGM also introduced me to the shoe books by Streatfeild, which I enjoyed as well.

    Based on a poster in Kathleen Kelly’s bookstore, I picked up Polkabats and Octopus Slacks from our library, but I don’t remember whether I liked it or not.

    For a Hollywood movie, YGM was an interesting springboard to some children’s literature.

    • Streatfeild is the other author I still haven’t read that I picked up on in the story.

      ” ‘Read it with a box of Kleenex,’ she said!”<—-That bit gets me every single time. (Reference to Anne of GG, of course!)

  4. Oh, okay. I remember the scene about the shoe books at the end…

    I should watch it again, now that the need for children’s reading material will make me more attentive!

    • It’s one of my favorite movies, and I don’t watch many. It’s just all the children’s lit stuff that gets me. 🙂

  5. I’m so excited you and your girls have joined in to read the BT books. I hope you really enjoy the stories. They are such treasures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

