• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand–Looking back & looking ahead

nightstand

When I first began composing this Nightstand post, I started out with a laundry list of things that keep me from reading much.  However, I’ve since rethought my attitude and approach.  Rather than look at all of those things as hindrances (because really, they are all just my life, which is incredibly good and blessed), I’m just going to be thankful because I did manage to get to all of the books I mentioned in last month’s Nightstand post!

In the past month, I have read and/or reviewed the following:

That’s a lot of mighty fine reading, folks!

This month, I’ve got quite a few things on my immediate TBR list.  I’m currently reading (and LOVING!) The Mysterious Benedict Society. After that, I plan to tackle The Rooftops of Tehran for next month’s 5 Minutes for Books Bookclub.  I also hope to re-read a favorite children’s classic for the 5 Minutes for Books Children’s Classics carnival.  (I’m thinking Black Beauty might be my pick for it, but we’ll see.)  I also have some YA and JF selections I’d love to get to.  Time will tell.

How about you?  Did you get to do a lot of reading last month, or are you looking forward to a book saturated October?  Click over to 5 Minutes for Books to read more Nightstand posts!

12 Responses

  1. I love the way you started this post. So true!

    Looking forward to your review of ‘Grace Based Parenting’! Also, I’ll be curious whether you go on to the sequel after ‘Mysterious.’ I didn’t; I liked it so much I didn’t want to risk the sequel because it might not be as good. (Is there a psychological label for fear-of-sequel-letdown?)

  2. Oooh, Benedict Society is a keeper! I’m buying those for my niece for Christmas and can’t wait to borrow book three from her already. 🙂 I read a LOT of Jan Karon this last month … it was easy to pick up and put down in a month that was very busy. 🙂 I need to pick something for Children’s Classics next month. My husband just bought me a copy of The Island of the Blue Dolphins so maybe that one??

  3. Benedict Society is now appearing wherever I look, just like Guernsey did, so it must be a sign that I’ve just got to get my hands on these books! 🙂

  4. You have read and are reading some good ones – and quality counts more than sheer quantity.

    Laura

  5. I really wanted to read Rooftops of Tehran, but I’m having a hard time finding a copy. (I usually try not to buy books, but get them from the library or Paperback Swap.)

    I love the cover of The Mysterious Benedict Society!

    • Me, too. I finally had to purchase a copy because I couldn’t ever get it through interlibrary loan. I hope it lives up to the billing! 🙂

  6. I keep hearing about The Mysterious Benedict Society — I need to look into it!

  7. We LOVED the Mysterious Benedict Society! I was just going to go to the library to get it again for one of my younger readers with a voracious book appetite. Book 2 was good, but not as good as book 1, so that commenter with fear-of-sequel-letdown, be warned. But, there’s a number 3?! (So glad I read the comments here!) Oh goody! I’m off to hunt for it. Trenton Lee Stewart is SUCH an imaginative and creative writer.

  8. Yes! DEFINITELY need to read TMBS because THE THIRD BOOK COMES OUT OCTOBER 6th!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Not that I’m excited or anything.)

    Oh. And run post haste to the library and grab the Betsy-Tacy books! You and your girls will positively love them. I’m into the series and I adore them. Very much up your alley, I would think!

    • Yeah, I think I’m going to have to join that Betsy Tacy challenge. I’ve never read any of them, but due to a mention in You’ve Got Mail, they have always been on my radar.

  9. The Mysterious Benedict Society is on my to be read list. On my nightstand is The Shack and Dewey the Library Cat. The Betsy Tacy books sound good as well…didn’t realize they were mentioned in You’ve Got Mail. Must watch again.

Leave a Reply

