• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Messy Monday::Storm in the Night Art Activity

I’ve been working hard at incorporating more intentional art activities into our weeks. My girls go through phases of making things on their own, and they have used up reams of paper in their endeavors (and left little giblets all over the house, too). Art is very important to me, and I want it to be important to them, too, if they’re bent that way, so I keep at it. My goal is to include an art activity for every FIAR book we “row.” (For the uninitiated, Five in a Row books are rowed instead of read or studied, since the idea is to read them five days in a row.) Often, the art activity will be something actually suggested in Five in a Row, but I am finding that some of these activities are still a little too much for my kindergartener and preschooler. Thus, I go searching. I found this nifty little project linked over at The Crafty Crow and decided it would be a good fit for us in our rowing of Storm in the Night. Since we have read and enjoyed two of the suggested book selections already (including It Looked Like Spilt Milk which I reviewed here), I decided to introduce the girls to another one of Eric Carle’s wonderfully illustrated books, Little Cloud. In this story, the title character transforms itself into lots of shapes until called upon to perform his real job. This one seemed to me like the perfect choice for the project at hand. Eric Carle’s wonderful books are so accessible to the younger set, both in terms of text and illustrations.

Here’s a little peek into our art activity:

cover

Cloud Book, sans any identifying information πŸ˜‰

Lulu writing

Filling in a blank with a little help

Louise writing

My lefty, who currently LOVES to write

Lulu bear

Five year old handwriting

Louise bear

Three year old handwriting

Storm in the Night was a great book for our first kindergarten FIAR selection. I’m waffling a little bit right now on how much I want to do with these books. I see all the lapbooking possiblities out there for these wonderful books, and my mind goes into overdrive in planning mode, but I don’t think I’m a lapbooker at heart. However, rather than think that we’re slacking because we’re not “doing” anything with these books, I’m trying to go with the original intent of the Five in a Row philosophy. Heather at Blog, She Wrote, whom I think of as the FIAR Queen, really settled my mind on this matter with this recent post.

2 Responses

  1. Hello! I just clicked over to your blog from Heart of the Matter online. Just wanted to say that I enjoyed your idea for the watercolor leaves, and that sounds easier than my idea of doing salt clay leaves for the girls to paint (we did that last year, and the year before…) so I plan to try it out. πŸ™‚

    Oh- and we also use FIAR, and I have a 5 yo (almost 6) and 3.5 yo myself! πŸ™‚ I have similar thoughts about how much to do, as well… loved Heather’s post also. I think I’m avoiding lapbooks, etc in favor of arts and crafts, playtime, math games, letterboxing, etc. I feel that FIAR and some phonics instruction along with everyday learning activities is really a great thing for them at this age, and it doesn’t feel like busywork, just real life. πŸ™‚

  2. […] Cloud Dance earlier this year when we studied clouds!Β  (You can read about that adventure here and here.)Β  Cloud Dance does a beautiful job of gently pointing out the different types of clouds in a very […]

Leave a Reply

