• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

First Week of Kindergarten

mnms

I began this week full of anticipation.  I even skipped out on Sunday evening church last Sunday to stay home and really get in some nitty gritty planning for our week.  Although Steady Eddie and I had spent a whole Saturday a few weeks ago lining out the year and what we hope to accomplish, school room construction (which we’re still in the thick of, by the way) had taken the wind out of my sails.  I stayed up late Sunday night, but Monday morning I was out of bed without too much procrastination because I was excited.

The week has gone smoothly, and it has been so good to be back in a routine.  🙂 

For reading instruction, we have done four days’ worth of lessons in Rocket Phonics, scrapping, at least for the time, our original curricular choices.  Lulu has loved the games that are a part of this curriculum, and Louise has even surprised me by jumping right into blending a consonant and short vowel with no problem at all.  Lulu has duly been introduced to digraphs, and she is currently not a fan.  Ah, but this will change.  🙂  She has only put her blanket over her head once the entire week, and I have only retreated to my bedroom once, hitting my knees with a desperate cry for mercy and help.  We’re doing really well.  😉

Lulu buh over head

Math has surprised me.  It has been lots of fun and easy for Lulu, which is great for the beginning.  That’s not the surprising part.  I’ve been surprised at how unwieldy it seems to me.  I can see that even for elementary school, mama is going to have to do a little bit of homework.  I’m not too good with following the script, so I need to be more comfortable with the philosophy and the nuts and bolts before we start doing something more complicated.  So far, it has been all about quantifying groups of items, sorting, and matching. 

goldfish

We have not begun our handwriting program yet because I failed to purchase the slates we needed.  This is probably an unnecessary piece of fluff, but it seems to me that it might indeed help Lulu with reversals (she has a really hard time with b and d still), and besides that, they will be fun.  Two slates, coming to our mailbox soon.  Then, handwriting.

We round out our academic day with a Five in a Row selection.  This week, it has been Storm in the Night with some go-alongs (a bookish post to come, of course) and activities from Homeschool Share.  The girls love this part of the day, of course, and look forward to it with great anticipation.  I have toyed with our schedule routine a bit and have finally decided that instead of doing this part of our learning time after rest time, as I originally planned, it works better for everyone to do it before. 

This week has brough its own little unexpected delights, as well.  For example, last night the girls and Steady Eddie found a dead cicada and promptly brought it into the house, where we placed it in a sandwich bag to add to our future bug collection.  This morning, we had an impromptu art/nature journaling session in which we all sketched the cicada.  In a fortuitous display of synchronicity, there was a newspaper article in our local paper this morning about these annual cicadas, complete with a picture.  Lovely!  Our next door neighbor is a county extension agent, and the fact that he was interviewed for the article absolutely delighted my girls. 

We have spent some time outdoors, and have even had an alfresco lunch every day this week.  This doesn’t happen by choice too often in the South in August, but we have had a few days of slightly cooler than normal temperatures.

Lulu crepe myrtle

alfresco lunch

I feel really good about where our year is going.  This is nice, especially after experiencing a lot of homeschool angst when public school started here a few weeks ago (and even before then).   What I can chalk this new-found resolution up to, besides lots of prayer from a select few people in my life pertaining to this particular issue, is an epiphany I had.  On Monday, this whole learning time/school day thing felt shockingly familiar.  I heard no angelic choir.  The heavens did not open.  It was then that I realized (DUH!) what I should have known all along:  we have always homeschooled our children.  It’s just that now it’s official.

Thank you, Lord, for this gift.

weekly wrap-up

(I had planned to make this first week of homeschooling a four-day week because we will usually have homeschool group on Fridays anyway, and besides, I want to take advantage of good weather while we still have it by either going swimming or to the park tomorrow.  That’s why I’m posting my weekly wrap-up on Thursday instead of Friday this week.  I will be linking this post to the Weekly Wrap-Up at Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers on Friday.)

15 Responses

  1. […] Best Picture Books « First Week of Kindergarten […]

  2. I’m glad things are going so well! That little hand pointing at the m&m’s is so cute.

    I drafted a post on our first week, too. I’m thinking it’s way too long to publish, though. I had only one moment of retreat and prayer here, too. 🙂

  3. So glad you had a great first week! I have thought that same thing about math myself, so that makes me feel a little better that you had the same thoughts. I am finding that I really need to focus on our quality of time together and not so much checking off what we need done. Lots of going over things again and again to make sure she understands it when I’m ready to push on because “I’ve” got it. 🙂

    Have a great Friday!

  4. Sounds like a great week! What are you thinking of Rocket Phonics. We’re using it, too. There is a lot I like about it, but still some areas where I’m a bit unsure of how it’s going to go long-term, so I’m watching and waiting.

    And, call me crazy, but that lunch picture looks yummy! Maybe it’s the berries, but it made me hungry. 😉

    • The jury’s still out, really. My girls both LOVE the games, but I’m not sure about the ITA. My review is forthcoming, of course. 😉

  5. Only one trip to the bathroom to cry for mercy? You’re my hero 🙂 Yes, I found myself yelling on day 2, I had to take a step back and it got better.

  6. You guys are off to a great start! Way to go!

  7. You sound so excited about everything and I think that is what makes things run so smoothly (((HUGS))) Your doing great!

  8. Looks like a great start to kindergarten! I wish that math was all m&m’s and goldfish, it would make our job easier :). Thanks for sharing your week.

  9. Thanks for sharing your week. It sounds like you are getting things rolling. Prayer does make all the difference. I am so glad you are embarking on the homeschool journey.

  10. The first week is always so exciting!!! I’ve found that I’m excited about every week. Most of the time anyway! LOL

  11. […] a week.  Often these projects will relate to our current Five in a Row selection.  However, for our first week of kindergarten, I was inspired by the September 2009 issue of Family Fun magazine.  When my eyes caught the […]

  12. […] Hope Is The Word presents First Week Of Kindergarten.  Some of you veteran mommies will sigh at the thought of going back to that very first week with […]

  13. […] , Preschool 1 Comment Louise has shown a lot of  interest in learning to read since Lulu began kindergarten.  She surprised me that first week by blending sounds into words very well.  She is eager and […]

Leave a Reply

