• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand–Looking Back & Looking Ahead

nightstandI should probably just save myself the effort and you all the time and just say not much.  Life has been going at a breakneck pace here lately, and my reading time has suffered.  Much of our work on the school room has taken place after the girls are in bed, so a consistent bedtime of midnight or later for me doesn’t leave much time for reading. 

I thought Rebecca was going to go the way of Les Miserables, but I did manage to finish reading it.  I intended to write up a final post about it to complete my Reflections in Progress post (is it ironic that this could be abbreviated R. I. P.?), but I just ran out of time.  Here’s a concise (as opposed to my usual wordy) version of what I was going to say:  I like the book a lot, I don’t like any of the characters.  Done. 

I also finished two juvenile fiction books this month.  I read My Side of the Mountain and Hank the Cowdog:  The Case of the One-Eyed Killer Stud Horse.  That’s it.  I read three books this month.  I think this is an all new low. 

For September, I’m not setting myself up for failure, I hope, by planning to finish another three whole books!  I’ve begun The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing:  The Pox Party and I am intrigued to the point of being mesmerized (which is apropos, if you’ve read this book). 
I’m on the list at the library to get The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society as soon as it is turned in.  Considering the fact that this is the next selection for the 5 Minutes for Books Bookclub  this coming Tuesday, I’m hoping it comes in very soon.  My current nonfiction read is Grace Based Parenting by Dr. Tim Kimmel.  I’ve wanted to read it for a long time, and I finally just included it on my last Amazon order because I couldn’t get my hands on it any other way.  I often write in the nonfiction books I read, so I need to own them rather than borrow them anyway.  I’ve read the first chapter, and it’s good. 

That’s it.  If I can get through these three books in September, as well as school my girls, teach Sunday School (or assist Steady Eddie on the weeks he’s “on”), teach a reading class two nights each week at the community college, and finish our school room, I’ll be satisfied.  Anything else will really be above and beyond!  🙂

What’s on your nightstand?  You can read more Nightstand posts at 5 Minutes for Books.

9 Responses

  1. Seriously. This homeschool thing totally cuts into my reading. 🙂 I think that’s one reason I’ve been reading so much of the Mitford series lately. I have read it so many times that I can pick it up and put it down without the agony of not knowing what is coming up next in the book. 🙂 I think you will really love the 5M4B book club selection. I read it first through the library and then had to buy a copy. That good. 🙂

    • I’ve been thinking maybe I should just run to Target and not wait for the library copy, especially since now the Bookclub is a week away and I read S–L–O–W–L–Y. You’ve just about convinced me. If it doesn’t come in today, then tonight I’ll head out to purchase it. 🙂

  2. Guernsey won’t take you long to read. It goes very quickly. I look forward to reading your thoughts about it!

    Lauren from 5MinutesforBooks.com

  3. I’m wanting to get Guernsey at my library, too. I assume we’re not in competition over the same copy. 🙂 But like you, I homeschool, and it drastically cuts into my reading time. A season of life….

  4. Looking forward to your thoughts on ‘Grace-based Parenting.’ I haven’t read it, but the title is SO great I really want to.

  5. HAHAHA! Loved your summary of Rebecca. ;D

    And I’m very curious for your thoughts on Octavian Nothing. I had….extreme impressions of it! So I’ll be watching to see what your summary on THAT one is!

    Guernsey is a fast read and *I* think you will LOVE it. And I hope I’m not wrong. =D

  6. Guernsey is worth the wait!

    And, like Carrie, I loved your review of Rebecca!

  7. I have yet to read the Guernsey book but plan on trying to do so this week. I shall see.

    The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing: The Pox Party – this book sounds very interesting.

    Here is my Nighstand

Leave a Reply

