• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand–Looking Back & Looking Ahead

 nightstandI love these monthly Nightstand posts because they offer me the opportunity to look back and reflect on what I’ve been reading.  Sometimes I feel like I make very little progress in my reading due to the many other demands on my time, but when I consider the month, and certainly the year, I realize that I’ve covered a good bit of ground.  That makes the list-checker in me happy! 

This month I’ve spent most of my time with nonfiction, devotional material.  I consider these books “comfort reads” because even if they challenge me (which they usually do), I am comforted by them because they draw me closer to God.  I’ve read these two excellent books this month:

  • A Mother’s Heart by Jean Fleming (read my thoughts here)
  • Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver (review forthcoming)

I also spent a good deal of my free time one week of the month of June prepping and reading for Narnia Week here at Hope Is the Word.  This was a lot of fun, but it was time consuming.  For this celebration which I did in conjunction with Carrie‘s Narnia Challenge, I scanned Roar! by Heather Kopp (my thoughts here) and thoroughly enjoyed The Magician’s Nephew again (my thoughts here). 

I guess that means I only read three books in the month of July from cover to cover.  Of course, that doesn’t take into account the magazines I perused, the books I read snippets from but didn’t review (I often practically read a whole book without intending to by just reading a little here and there), the many, many books I read aloud to my girls, and the Bible study books I’ve been reading in preparation for teaching Sunday School and for my own enjoyment.  (I’m trying to give myself a little credit here–bear with me.)

Hands down the best book I read the entire month, though, is the chapter book my girls and I enjoyed together.  I had the privilege of introducing my girls to Narnia for the first time.  You can read about this lovely experience here.


And now, on to August.  I started re-reading Daphne DuMaurier’s Rebecca in anticipation of next week’s Classics Bookclub at 5 Minutes for Books yesterday while my girls played at the splash pad.  I’m hooked, again.  🙂  Also, I have an interlibrary loan book at home right now that is due August 5.  I requested this one, The Flame Tree by Richard Lewis, after reading a review of it on Sherry’s blog.  Sherry reiterated her recommendation of The Flame Tree in this post about what sounds like a really fun challenge for August, the One Shot World Tour–Southeast Asia at Chasing Ray.  I started reading The Flame Tree but soon got engrossed in Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, which I was trying to read simultaneously, so the YA book fell by the wayside.  I hope to pick it back up.  Otherwise, who knows?  One thing is certain–I do not lack for reading material.  My TBR shelf is crammed full. 

How about you?  What’s on your nightstand?  Hop over to 5 Minutes for Books to tell us about your own nightstand!

11 Responses

  1. I enjoyed Rebecca as well — for the first time.

    Be sure to check out my post and click over to win Tricia Goyer’s new parenting memoir. I think it would definitely be a comfort read for you, too. I loved it.

  2. Sounds like you had a profitable reading month! I’ll have to write down some of your titles because they sound like books I would enjoy too.

    I read “Rebecca” a few years ago…maybe I should pull it back out and join the group…

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. You did great last month.. I looked back and realized I only read one book this month 😛 I think I took a little summer break! Good list of books for next month. I hope to read more this month.

  4. I have the Mary book on my shelf but haven’t gotten into it yet.

    You’ve gotten a lot read this month!

  5. I so wish I could have fit Rebecca in this month too!

  6. See, I have this ridiculous need for constant reminders about Rebecca! It’s sitting here, waiting to be read, and I’m trying to cram through so many other things (and am feeling incredibly UNmotivated of late!)…..bah!

    Loved Having a Mary Heart….looking forward to your thoughts!

  7. I’ve seen the Mary book on several lists over that past few months. I need to add it to my list.

    I’m excited about Rebecca, too! Loved it years ago and can’t wait to read it again.

  8. I comnpleted my own Narnia challenge earlier this year. I was a little melancholy as I turned the last page of the last book. Great list.

  9. What an interesting selection. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Every time I see Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World some where I think I should pick it up, but I still haven’t.

    I wish I had remembered about Rebecca and got a copy…everyone’s praise has gotten me interested!

  11. Great wrap up. It’s been several years since I read the Narnia books. I tried reading aloud with my 9 year old son, but he just wasn’t into it. Give him a couple more years. I’ll have to read Rebecca again as well. All books I read way back when. I do want to check out Having A Mary Heart. I have heard a lot of good things about the book. My nightstand post is

    Nightstand July

Leave a Reply

