• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

What’s on My Nightstand::May Wrap-up and Looking Ahead to June

nightstandWhew!  It has been a busy month for us!  This month we attended two homeschooling conferences, both of which required us to drive a distance from home.  We also celebrated a birthday and Mother’s Day, all in one weekend.  We spent a good deal of time traveling for other family celebrations.  Based on the amount of time I spent in the van this month, I should have read much more than I did (for me, travel time usual means reading time).  However, I can only count six books that I finished this month, and nary a one of them was a challenging read.

I read four nonfiction selections in May, and I think they are the ones that will stick with me the longest.  I read

  • Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas (my review here)
  • Feeding Your Soul:  A Quiet Time Handbook by Jean Fleming (my review here)
  • God’s Harvard:  A Christian College on a Mission To Save America by Hanna Rosin
  • The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian

The first two of these are quiet, contemplative books–the kind I like best.  I would recommend either one of them to any Christian desiring a deeper walk with the Lord.  (Obviously, the parenting book is geared toward parents, but I think the principles in it could be applied to any challenging issue in a person’s life.)  God’s Harvard is a book I blazed through because I found it fascinating in an almost voyeuristic way (dare I admit that?).  In the end, though, I couldn’t review it because I found it so big and unwieldy to grapple with–I didn’t even know how I felt about it after I read it, much less what I should say about it here.  I might go back and review The Power of  a Praying Wife some time, but I think most people know about it already.

My focus in fiction has been to read juvenile fiction, and it has been refreshing.   I have read

  • The Wanigan by Gloria Whelan (my review here)
  • The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall (my review here)

I should finish up The Underneath by Kathi Appelt sometime soon, and I might even get the review done before the month’s out.

As for June, I have no specific plans.  The Semicolon Book Club selection for June is David Copperfield.  Based on my lack of success (failure?) with Les Miserables, I don’t think I’ll even bother to put it on my TBR shelf.  I have some kind of mental block about starting a 1000+ page book when I still have 600 or so pages left in the last one I started.  😉

I have ordered a couple of books from Paperback Swap on the recommendation of one of my favorite book bloggers, Janet of Across the PageHer review of Davita’s Harp by Chaim Potok, which I read many years ago as an undergraduate student in a young adult literature class, rekindled my interest in Potok and encouraged me to read My Name Is Asher Lev.  Janet also wrote a review of Girl Meets God by Lauren Winner that really piqued my curiosity; I have seen this book numerous times around book blogdom, but this review made me actually seek the book out.  Janet’s good at that.  🙂

As for my readings with the girls, I’m sure we’ll continue on our Little House fixation fascination.

What’s on your nightstand?  For more nightstand posts, click over to 5 Minutes for Books.

8 Responses

  1. I’m honored! (…and biting my nails hoping you like those two books as much as I did!! 🙂

    Sounds like you’ve had a busy month. Traveling usually means less reading for me, even though as you say it should mean more time to read in the car. ‘God’s Harvard’ sounds very intriguing from the tidbits you gave!

    I’d like to make it to our state’s homeschooling conference 2 weeks from now, but a lot of it depends on whether my husband will be able to get away. I’ve heard they’re really energizing.

  2. I usually read a lot in the car as well — I usually have to take something pretty easy to get into, though.

    I read The Power of a Praying Wife years ago. It’s probably something I should revisit every few years.

    I know what you mean about finishing a book that is hard to review because you’re still grappling with it long after finishing reading.

    I’d not heard of the Penderwicks til recently, but I keep seeing them mentioned on blogs. I should investigate them!

  3. I have Girl Meets God on my shelf, but have yet to pick it up myself. Eventually… 🙂

    Ah, The Penderwicks! I am going to take that book on our summer trip and reread it then.

  4. Great reviews. I had to LOL about David C. I think I’d feel daunted by it too.

    And for me travel time = reading time, too, which is one reason I was able to finish so many books this weekend. Love it!

  5. Wow! You did have a busy traveling month. I really enjoyed The Penderwicks and can’t wait to read the rest in the series.

  6. Interesting list – the only one I have read is Power of a Praying Wife. Girl Meets God sounds intriguing.

  7. I’ll be interested to see what you think about The Underneath.

    David Copperfield is long, but worth it. However, I agree that you should finish Les Miserables first. Les Miz is my favorite of all time.

  8. I so wish I could read in the car! You read some wonderful books this month! Don’t you just love paperback swap!

Leave a Reply

