• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Right in Our Own Backyard

Isn’t springtime wonderful?  I love it!  I’ve been trying to get up early enough every weekday morning to take a walk and do my other activities-requiring-quiet before the girls wake up.  Well, some mornings (like this one) I fail, but I figure the times that I do manage to accomplish this are better than not doing it at all, right?  Walking in the “wee sma’s” (as Anne of Green Gables would say) is good for the body and spirit, I’ve discovered.  I like to take along a few cards on which I’ve jotted the Scripture passages I’m working on committing to memory to have to mull over while I walk.  Really, though, I spend a lot of my time listening to and watching birds.  I’ve discovered that we have a dove (or a pair of doves?) that live in our neighborhood.  One of them is usually on a powerline that runs across one of the streets a block away from our house, and I’ve begun expecting to see him (or her?) when I round the corner.

I was delighted when Steady Eddie pointed out a few weeks ago that we had an occupied nest on top of one of the gutters under the eaves of our house.  It was a robin’s nest, and we were all tickled when the eggs finally hatched.  Unfortunately for me, the only way to see into the nest was to climb a ladder and peek in–I am really scared of heights.  Steady Eddie did manage to snap a few photos for me, though.

birds1Closer. . . .birds2Ah, right there!birds3Of course, when I saw Robin’s Home by Jeannine Atkins at the library, I had to bring it home.  Of courserobinshome2
Robin’s Home is the story of a baby robin who finds his nest very comfortable–so comfortable, in fact, that he doesn’t want to leave it.  His papa finally convinces him to leave the nest by offering to show him the places where they collected the materials to build the nest, including yarn hung across some branches by children on purpose for the robins to use.  Of course, when he finally leave the nest, the baby robin learns that he already knows how to fly.  This is a charming story with gentle watercolor-like illustrations by Candace Whitman.

The really neat thing about reading this story is that we continued to make connections.  A few weeks later, we saw a robin in our back yard working diligently to pull a piece of string from our trellis in our square-foot garden.  Ah ha!

As for our own tenants, they flew the coop unbeknownst to us.

birds4

Don’t you just love it when books and real life intersect?  (If you like this domino effect that reading often causes, you might like to check out Reading Trails.  It’s all about books and rabbit trails of the bookish variety.)

2 Responses

  1. We’re reading bird stories this week too.

    That’s a great picture of the nest. Last year we had both cardinals and robins nesting beside our house, but this year all I’ve found are baby rabbits. (We have a couple of rabbit books too…)

    I too love my morning walk.

  2. Wow, what beautiful photos of the bird’s nest!

Leave a Reply

