• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Read Aloud Thursday

square-read-aloud-imageAre you all as happy as I am that it is finally spring?  Although spring arrives more quickly here in our little corner of the country than many other places, it seems like it has been a long time coming this year.  Stumbling upon this book, then, was a pure delight.  With its vibrant colors and fun illustrations, Butterfly Butterfly:  A Book of Colors by Petr Horacek is a gorgeous springtime read.  As a former librarian, I always think twice about books like this one, though.  It contains die-cut pages and a gorgeous, three-dimensional pop-up butterfly at the very end (which, incidentally, had already been taped up at least once before we brought it home from the library).  I know that books like this one don’t have a very long shelf-life in a well-used library, but this one is truly worth purchasing for one’s own home collection, particularly if there are bug-loving preschoolers in the audience.  Highly recommended!
Another book we enjoyed this week is Peek-A-Boo! by Janet and Allen Ahlberg.  This is another book with die-cut (or peek-a-boo) pages, but this one has an added bonus.  The entire story is told in rhyme!  I love stories like this.  Peek-a-Boo! is the sweet and simple tale of a baby’s day and the things he sees from his different vantage points as the day goes along.  I noticed at Amazon that this book comes in a board book format; this would make it perfect for the younger set.  However, I think this book is perfect for slightly older children too because of the detailed illustrations.  The Ahlbergs did a fantastic job of conveying life in a busy, multigenerational household in this book.

I picked up Mystery Bottle by Kristen Balouch because of the very interesting cover illustration.  The title font has a decidedly Middle Eastern flair, and with a map as a background, I was hooked.  (Have I ever mentioned that I love to travel and long to travel more?)  This is just a sweet, sweet story about a boy who receives a package from his grandfather who lives in Iran.  Inside this package is a bottle, and when the boy opens the bottle, he is mysteriously transported on a breeze across the ocean to visit his grandfather, his Baba Bozorg.  The illustrations in this book are unique, colorful, and a real feast for the eyes.  I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more books by this author/illustrator, who was the 2007 winner of the Ezra Jack Keats Award for new illustrator (my thoughts on Ezra Jack Keats here).

Okay, I have saved the best for last!  How To Be a Baby by Me , the Big Sister (and Sally Lloyd-Jones and Sue Heap) is SO MUCH FUN!  (By the way, I’m not sure how much of that really should be the title.  I’m just going by the title page.)  Sally Lloyd-Jones is, of course, the author of The Jesus Storybook Bible (my review here), so when I saw her name on this book, I had to bring it home.  We were not disappointed.  I mean, how can I we not like a book by an author who uses parenthetical statements with abandon?  ; )  This story is told from the point of view of an older, and slightly jealous, sister who gives her baby brother instructions on, well, how to be a baby.  Sue Heap’s illustrations really add a lot to this story, literally.  The illustrations are all over the page and often help complete the idea set forth in the text (i.e. with speech balloons, etc.).  Also included in the illustrations are “handwritten” lists of addendum–for example, “Here’s What Else You’re Scared Of:” and “Here’s What Toys You don’t Have and You’re Not Allowed to Play With:”.  My girls got a big kick out of this book.  This one would be especially great for a big sister who happens to have a really cute but annoying (at times, at least to her) baby sibling.  Highly recommended!

What have you enjoyed together this week?  Do tell!

Oh, and be sure to come back next week (aw, come back before then!) to find out what I have planned for my inaugural Read Aloud Week at Hope Is the Word.  (Psst–I think it might involve a book giveaway!)

One more thing : )–Don’t forget to grab the Read Aloud Thursday button!


One Response

  1. I’m linking up Carrie @ Reading to Know’s Read Aloud Thursday–>

    http://www.readingtoknow.com/2009/04/read-aloud-thursday_23.html

Leave a Reply

