• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

HomeWork: Juggling Home, Work, and School Without Losing Your Balance

homeworkcoverlgYou all know that I love to read, and most of you have probably figured out by now that I am passionate about teaching my children.  I have been blessed to be primarily a SAHM since just before Lulu’s birth almost five years ago.  God’s provision for us through Steady Eddie’s career and my own part-time employment has been so amazing.  My part-time job is one that requires very little out-of-the-home time from me, and so we are blessed to be able to pursue our dream of home-educating our daughters. The down-side to my job, though, is that it does require a fair amount of work once I arrive home each week.   As we have neared the official beginning of school age, I have been a little anxious over how to effectively combine my “extra-curricular activity providing”  job with my vocation of mothering and educating my children. The e-book HomeWork:  Juggling Home, Work, and School Without Losing Your Balance has inspired me through the realization that working at home and being a home educating parent really is possible.

This e-book is really just a collection of vignettes written by almost twenty homeschooling/home-based entrepreneurs of all varieties.  Some of the businesses are the usual work-at-home transcriptionist and income tax preparer.  Others, however, are more unusual, such as pet sitter and work-at-home travel agent.  Just about every category of business is highlighted, from the business-oriented to the technical to the highly creative.

Personally, I found my mind working to think about how I might fit one of these types of jobs into our home life while I was reading.  I’ve never considered myself very entrepreneurial (and in fact my one foray into direct selling cost us way more than I made), but the idea of starting a business that my children could grow up with really appeals to me.  I think that is one of the most inspiring things about this e-book:  through it, we see the honest, real life workings of a home educating, home business running family.  The authors of the various articles include such details as how they became home entrepreneurs, what their daily schedule looks like, and how much their husbands are able to help them with the tasks of homeschooling and running the business.

If you’re looking for nitty-gritty, nuts-and-bolts information on starting and running your own home business, you will only find a couple of articles about what is called “Tricks of the Trade” in this e-book.  However, if you’re looking for inspirational, honest, and even sometimes funny accounts of how real-life people make this balancing act work for them, this e-book is for you.

HomeWork:  Juggling Home, Work, and School Without Losing Your Balance is available for download for $12.45 from The Old Schoolhouse Magazine‘s Schoolhouse Store.

Disclosure:  I received this e-book free through the trial process of securing a position on The Old Schoolhouse Homeschool Crew.

2 Responses

  1. […] Your Life by Gary Smalley)54. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Suncatchers by Jamie Langston Turner)55. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (HomeWork e-book)56. Word Lily (In This Mountain)57. Book Chatter (Ti)58. Book Chatter (Ti)59. Joy (Crazy for the […]

  2. Good article. Thumbs up

Leave a Reply

