• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Every Hidden Thing by Athol Dickson

I picked up Every Hidden Thing by Athol Dickson last week from the library at the church where I attend weekly Bible study.  After reading Dickson’s They Shall See God, I want to read everything I can get my hands on by Dickson.  Since Bible study is almost over for the year, I won’t have easy access to this church library again until next fall when Bible study resumes, so I wanted to take advantage of this opportunity.  Never mind the fact that I have about a million other things on my plate right now; other things can always be set aside for a good book, right?

It turns out that Every Hidden Thing is book two in the Garr Reed Mystery series.  I don’t think reading this title out of order hurt my understanding or enjoyment of it.  However, I hope to locate a copy of the first book in this series, Whom Shall I Fear, and read it some time in the future.

While reading Every Hidden Thing, I decided that Dickson’s books are sort of hybrid between a commentary on Southern (New Orleans or eastern Texas) society and a supernatural thriller/mystery.  Think Matlock meets Frank Peretti.  Every Hidden Thing is a very complex mystery that involves the anti-abortion movement in its most militant forms, voo-doo, and crimes of passion, if you can imagine such a combination.  Garr Reed’s wife, Mary Jo, is accused of murder and attempted murder in the death of a priest and an abortion doctor, and the absolving of his wife of this crime is Garr’s obsession throughout the story.  However, confusion and doubts about Mary Jo’s innocence and her mystery-shrouded past cause Garr to journey into this painful past to rescue his wife.  It is a real page turner with some plot twists that completely took me by surprise.  In fact, the mystery appears to be solved several chapters before the book ends, and what remains of the story are the emotional effects of the mystery and the discoveries Garr makes about his wife’s past.  This is a mystery with a heart.  Garr Reed is a very likeable character, and as a reader I really began to empathize with him in his fear, anger, and confusion about his wife.

Although Every Hidden Thing falls into the genre of Christian fiction, it is not a meek-and-mild story.  Although it contains no profanity or gratuitous anything, it does contain some sensuality and supernatural elements.  However, it also paints a realistic picture of a new believer who is tested and proven through a very fiery trial.  I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys suspense or crime stories.

3 Responses

  1. Very helpful review! I liked the Dickson book I read last time and was wondering about his other titles and this helped me out. THanks.

  2. […] (Hana in the Time of the Tulips)84. CoversGirl (Rosy is My Relative)85. CoversGirl (Plum Spooky)86. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Every Hidden Thing)87. Amy @ Hope Is the Word (Invention of Hug Cabret)88. Joy (Shanghai Girls)89. Word Lily (Field of […]

  3. […] this year.  River Rising is the third Athol Dickson book I’ve read (read my other reviews here and here), and I actually read the others due to Sherry’s choosing River Rising for the […]

Leave a Reply

