• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

More Books Monday

Like I need more books to read right now.  Right.  : )

I can’t resist, though.  I like doing this little feature because it helps me keep up with what, where, and when I heard about that certain book that sounds tantalizing.  Bear with me.

I was reading a recent issue of Southern Living magazine when one of their recommended titles caught my eye.  Although I’ve never read much about President Abraham Lincoln outside of the normal history textbook stuff, I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for him.  Lincoln:  The Biography of a Writer, because it focuses on him as a writer, intrigues me.  February would be a great time to read this, since it is the month of his birth.  I’m pretty sure I won’t get to it in February (come back tomorrow to learn why not), but I would love to get to it some time.

Before becoming a mostly-SAHM, I worked as an elementary librarian.  Because of my job, I worked pretty hard to keep up with the newly published children’s books.  However, since leaving that position and becoming the librarian/teacher/chief cook and bottle washer here in my own home, I have fallen woefully behind.  I actually picked up The Invention of Hugo Cabret on our last library trip, but because of the intimidating titles I have on my nightstand for the next month or so (again, come back tomorrow. . .), I decided not to bring it home.  After reading Shauna’s review over at Treasure Seekers, I decided I should read this one ASAP.  It intrigues me that a chapter book won the Caldecott award.  I think I’ll get back to this one sooner rather than later.

Have you read either one of these?  If so, can you share a link to your review?  If not, share your opinion in the comments.  Oh, and have a marvelous Monday!  : )

3 Responses

  1. Hi! I have read The Invention of Hugo Cabret. Actually I listened to it on my computer. I had to have it read for class and I couldn’t find a paper copy in time. Anyway, it’s a pretty neat book. The illustrations are incredible. If you check out the audio version, be sure to watch the section about how the author actually drew the pictures. Also, there is a lot of symbolism in his pictures/story if I recall correctly.

  2. ‘Hugo’ is one of my favorite books ever! Definitely a must read. And I don’t know about listening to it… unless somehow you get the pictures as well. ‘Hugo’ is more than a book. It’s an amazing experience.
    Z-Dad

  3. […] I am giving myself the month off to read whatever strikes my fancy.  I would love to read The Invention of Hugo Cabret and maybe some good young adult fiction.  I’m not making any specific plans, though.  I […]

Leave a Reply

