• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

More Books Monday

011213_1221_0014_lshs-fb_bstack-of-old-hardcover-books-posters

I am learning so much about book blogging from Carrie at Reading to Know.  Although I have been at this for a while now, it is only in the past month or so that I have gotten a new lease on reading for pleasure and to better myself.  Now I have a goal and a mission, and now that I am a participant in an active book blogging community, I have a way to really hold myself accountable to that goal and mission.

Because of this new-found goal  to read more, enjoy more, and share more, I have decided to institute my “More Books Mondays.”  Truthfully, this is just a way for me to keep up with all the great books reviews that I read through the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon, through various blogs I visit through the weekly meme Booking Through Thursday, through something I read on a blog from my ever-burgeoning blogroll, or from a comment some kind reader leaves here at Hope Is the Word.

Carol (a.k.a. Magistra Mater), after reading that Wendell Berry is my new favorite author (am I only allowed one?), wrote that she had enjoyed reading Wendell Berry’s new book to her grandson.  It’s a children’s book, no less.  If you’ve been reading here at Hope Is the Word for very long, you know if there’s one thing I like, it’s a good children’s book.  Berry’s new book is entitled Whitefoot.  Here is Amazon’s synopsis of the book:

Whitefoot is a mouse, a small creature with “elegant whiskers” and a “reddish brindly tan” coat. She lives at the edge of the woods, where she knows, without a doubt, that she exists at the center of the world. What she doesn’t know is that not far from her safe haven there is a river, and a world of such size and magnitude that she cannot even imagine it. One day, a burst of rain floods down on Whitefoot, lifting her in its currents and carrying her far from home. What happens next leads Whitefoot on a great adventure — one in which she must encounter new experiences and challenges to her survival. The discovery of the universe around her, and her ability to survive within it, is a lesson that’s sure to resonate with children and adults alike. Written by best-selling author, Wendell Berry, this beautiful volume is illustrated in fine detail with original drawings by acclaimed artist Davis Te Selle.

Doesn’t it sound lovely?  I can’t wait to get my hands on it and share it with my girls!
The aforementioned Carrie at Reading to Know reviewed Starting with Stories on her blog (read her complete review here).  Although my girls and I have been enjoying Before Five in a Row for the past year or so (we’ve been doing it somewhat sporadically), we will soon reach the end of its booklist.  I am intrigued by Starting with Stories because it includes so many books (over 100).  I have often thought that poor Louise will get the short end of the stick, as younger siblings are purported to always get, because we are doing so many educational activities that are more age-appropriate for Lulu.  It will seem sort of anticlimactic (at least to me) to do them again for Louise when it’s her time.  Perhaps Starting with Stories will be the “curriculum” we use for Louise’s learning time once Lulu is officially a kindergartener here at the Hope House school.

Lastly, I am referencing Carrie and her prolific reading and wonderful reviews once again on this, my first More Books Monday post.  I knew I had read about a book that sounded like a great addition to my parenting and educating repertoire on her blog some time ago, so I had to do a little digging to find this one.  It is Discover Your Children’s Gifts (read her synopsis and complete review here at 5 Minutes for Books).

In our journey to prepare our children for their futures, I am always looking for ways to capitalize on their strengths and God-given talents and abilities.  It sounds like this book might just help me figure this out a little better.  Besides, if Carrie says that reading this book affected every aspect of her life (and she does), it sounds like a book I can really get into.  I love a book that makes me look at the world in a new way.  All the better if it helps me become a better parent and a better servant of Christ!

Well, that’s it.  I’ve now added three more titles to my every-growing TBR list, one for read-aloud and two to add to my education/parenting library.  Come back next Monday for another More Books Monday!

One Response

  1. Thank you for all the plugs! =D And both Starting With Stories AND DIscover Your Children’s GIfts (esp. that one!) are EXCELLENT resources. Can’t wait to hear your own thoughts on them when you get around to reading them!

Leave a Reply

