• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Book Review–Mr. Darcy’s Diary

Title:  Mr. Darcy’s Diary

Author:  Amanda Grange

Publisher:  Sourcebooks, Inc.

Length:  329 p.

ISBN:  9781402208798

 

 

Synopsis:  If you’ve read Pride and Prejudice (and chances are, if you’re reading this review, you have), you’ve already read this story.  This is simply the story told from Mr. Darcy’s perspective. 

My Thoughts:  I love this book.  It really served to endear Mr. Darcy to me even further.  Of course, after watching this movie, I already love him.  Although this book can in no way compare to reading Elizabeth Bennet’s wit and interior conversations first hand (and that is certainly not the author’s intention), I appreciate how Mr. Darcy’s side of the story is very straightforward in Mr. Darcy’s Diary.  It actually clarifies many things for me.  Several places in the book paint such a picture of what it feels like to truly be in love for the first time that I found myself recalling how I fell in love with my own sweet husband.  I suppose that since I already knew the story of Darcy and Elizabeth, I could focus on more of the nuances and little details.  I really like that the author takes the reader just a little way into the married life of Mr. and Mrs. Darcy, as well.  It makes me want to watch the movie again right now.  In fact, I might just do that.  However, not before I record a few of my favorite quotes from the book:

“I should have been angered by her sauciness, but somehow I felt an answering smile spring into my eyes.  It seemed absurd, all of a sudden, that I should expect so much from the opposite *** [sic], when a pair of fine eyes was all that was needed to bestow true happiness.  It is a happiness I have never felt when listening to a woman sing or play the piano, and I doubt if I ever will.”  (53)

“But Elizabeth, who was not in the least mortified at being used so ill, merely smiled mischievously and said that we looked so well together the group would be spoilt by a fourth.  Then wishing us goodbye she ran off gaily, like a child who suddenly finds herself free of the schoolroom.  As I watched her run, I felt my spirits lift.  I felt as thought I, too, was suddenly free, free of the trammelled dignity of my life, and I longed to run after her.”  (67)

2 Responses

  1. How neat! I’m a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice! Gotta add it to my ever growing list of books to read (one of these days.)

    I came to your blog via Kim Payne. A little birdie told me you were Assembly of God. 🙂

    I hope you will consider joining Assembly of God Blogs. This is a wonderful and quickly growing online ministry. I am about to add blog #80 to the list! As one new member recently commented “it gives my blog a greater purpose!”.

    If you’re asking What is a Blog Ring or Why join a blog ring, you can go to the site and look for two blue circle buttons, this will explain and answer your questions. Of course, you are always welcomed to email me with any questions/comments/concerns you may have!

    I do hope you’ll consider adding your blog to this ministry! We’d love for you to join!

    To go to the Assembly of God Blogs site go to: http://assemblyofgodblogs.blogspot.com

    To join the Assembly of God Blogs, to to the site and look for a button (near the top on the right side) that says “click here for Assembly of God Blogs code.”

    Many blessings, and I hope to hear from you soon!

    ~Sharon~

  2. Love your blog! I wandered over here from the WTM message board.

    I’m a huge Jane Austen fan and after reading your review I was happy to discover that my library carries this book – so you’ve added to my Jane Austen addiction! :0)

Leave a Reply

