• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Week Two–August 11-15, 2008

I realize that I am going about this is somewhat of a backwards way.  I have no formal plan for the year, no year-at-a-glance, scope and sequence, or even any specific weekly plans.  This is somewhat uncharacteristic for me because I have been known to overplan my life. However, I think there are a couple of reasons for this, and I hope after reading them that this will seem excusable: 
  1. Lulu is only four, so she is not even technically old enough for school.  In my mind, this means that whare we’re doing is just extra, above-and-beyond stuff.  Who needs a plan for that, right?
  2. I’m still having a hard time wrapping my head around the concept of homeschooling so if I kind of sneak in the back door and do it, maybe it will become “what we do” instead of “what we’re going to do.”  Do you follow?

I guess you could say that we’re simply working on pre-reading skills.  Here are the sounds we learned this week:

Monday–r

Tuesday–c (hard c)

Wednesday–g

Thursday–h

Friday–a (short a)

I know that there is some sort of phonemic notation that I’m supposed to be using (and I’ve even had a couple of linguistics courses, ‘though you’d never know it now), but I haven’t looked them up.

We followed essentially the same lesson plan that we followed last week.  I tried to make a big deal out of /a/ (is that the notation?), as per The Ready-to-Read, Read-to-Count Handbook that I’m using as my guide.  For example, instead of making a a sandpaper letter, I made it a felt letter so that it would both look and feel different.  Instead of cutting out pictures of a words from our old magazines, we made an a necklace (another suggestion from the book). 

I would consider this a fun and successful week.  We even had a few really bright spots (that might even be called the much-coveted “aha” moments) :
  • when Lulu was extremely excited about Friday’s learning time because I had really built it up to her that we would be learning something different (the short a sound)
  • when Lulu, after learning /h/, wanted to write “the cat in the hat.”  Of course, we did that.

 

Try as I might to get her to do something more age-appropriate, Louise insists on doing what big sister does.  Here is her whiteboard work:

A very good week indeed!
6 Responses

  1. Aren’t they the cutest! 🙂

  2. What a fun week! Don’t you just love how those little ones just want to be like the big kids when we just want them to be little ones? (whew…that was a sentence!)

  3. I love their necklaces-that is so creative.
    It sounds like a fun week-that age is so great to teach. Your little ones are adorable!

  4. I agree, your kids are young and any school is gravy. Kudos to you for just going with the flow and stealing teachable moments, without a schedule!

  5. Great job, Mom! And I think you do have a plan, whether you realize it or not – your plan is to teach them what they are ready to learn, and that’s very effective because it keeps them interested and wanting more. But at their ages, you can’t know what that is until you get there.

    I am going into my seventh year of homeschooling, and I gave up on lesson plans a long time ago. If I sit down in the beginning and write out the whole year, it always, ALWAYS, fails, usually within the first month. (Teacher error, most likely.) So at the beginning of the year, I sit down with our curriculum and figure out how many lessons we need to do every day or week to stay on track, and then I keep a book to write down what we did each day. Some states I guess we couldn’t get away with that, but so far it’s working for us. And of course, if you’re writing your own curriculum, you have to do a lot more planning. As great as that was, I can’t manage it since Lydia came along.

  6. […] review and reinforcement.  (You can read more about what we did in the very beginning here and here and here.)  The Ready-to-Read, Ready-to-Count Handbook is a great resource, particularly for a […]

Leave a Reply

