• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 45 other subscribers

Book Review–Smiles to Go by Jerry Spinelli

Smiles to Go

Title:  Smiles to Go

Author:  Jerry Spinelli

Publisher:  HarperCollins

Pages:  248

ISBN:  9780060281335

Synopsis:  Will Tuppence has life figured out:  he lives for Saturday evening Monopoly dates with his best friends, B.T. and Mi-Su; skateboarding on his Black Viper; praticing chess strategies with his dad; and stargazing.  However, on the day the first proton dies, Will begins to realize that life as he knows it is bound to change.  Nothing stays the same.  Couple this realization with his awakening feelings for his best gal-friend Mi-Su, and what we have is the makings of a novel chock full of teenage angst.  However, Will’s confusion over his messed up life suddenly becomes clear when his pesky younger sister is involved in a terrible accident.

My Thoughts:  This is classic Jerry Spinelli.  When I saw this book on the new shelf at the library, I knew I had to read it.  The protagonist, Will Tuppence, questions everything about his life in light of the fact that since scientists have recorded that even protons eventually decay, nothing about his life will last.  He even begins to reckon his own days from the date of the first proton death.  When he’s not thinking such grand metaphysical thoughts, he is wondering whether Mi-Su likes him or their best buddy, B.T., better.  B.T. is a very Maniac Magee-esque character who lives a very unconventional life with an unconventional family.  Will’s obsession with his relationship with Mi-Su comes to a screeching halt when his little sister, Tabby, is hurt in an accident, but of course, all’s well in the end.  As with most of Jerry Spinelli’s books I’ve read, some of the characters are a little unbelievable, but nevertheless, they make for very interesting reading. 

10 Responses

  1. i haven’t read a jerry spinelli book in a long time, i really liked “manic magee, crash and wringer”, hopefully this book is as good as those books.

  2. Will has the same last name as me, slightly different spelling. 🙂 Interesting.

    I am currently reading “Eggs” by Jerry Spinelli – have you read it?

  3. I have read most of the jerry spinelli books. Eggs was on of my fav’s. but my definate favorite is “smiles to go”. It is great. I ♥ this book.

  4. I really liked this book. I’m very fond of Jerry Spinelli’s books. I love his way of explaining things and he is a great writer. If you like other Jerry Spinelli books this is great book that I think you should read!

  5. I haven’t read this book but i am currently reading Scat i hope this will be good!

  6. i read this book for my book report, i truly love it. it has so much meaning and shows that nothing lasts forever so live life to the fullest !
    (well thats my opinon of it ) 😛

  7. i love this book it is awesome you have got to read it i just got it and read it in 2 days. dude,read it!!

  8. Smiles to go I think was one of the best book I read. It’s really is interesting to see how someone thinks.But i think that Will over thinks sometimes. I agree that that we should live life to the fullest because everything does decay. So people to really know what I’m saying read it! 😉

  9. I’m reading this book right now…so far I think it’s pretty good. I am also a science geek, so I can relate! 🙂 I’m planning to read Eggs next–has anyone else read this book?

Leave a comment