• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Grocery Expenditures–Monthly Total

finish linefinish line

As January comes to a close, Steady Eddie and I feel like a runner must feel when crossing the finish line after a long, hard race:  tired, extraordinarly glad it’s over, and a little bit unsure of what we just did.  WE DID IT (almost)! As of last weekend, we had spent $288.15 on groceries for the month of January, and I was pretty certain we could not keep our total under our goal of $300.  I was right, but I am still happy that we only spent $22.20 on groceries this week.   This brings our monthly total to $310.35.  This feels like victory to us, because this is the first time since I quite working full-time (and maybe even the first time in our marriage) that we A.) kept up with how much we spent pretty much down to the penny and B.) managed to make it through the month without pulling a significant amount of money out of savings.  January is the hardest month of the year, too, so this makes the victory particularly sweet! 

It really is true that success breeds success.  Now it’s time to get our game face on for February!

Picture Credit

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations! I think you did awesome! You have defnitely been an inspiration to me in my own “grocery race”..unfortunatley, I’m quite a bit behind you. Maybe next month I can run a bit faster.

    Thanks for the love on my layouts, too. 🙂

  2. […] the weeks just roll around faster than I can get the dishwasher loaded and unloaded sometimes.  Am I ever glad we’re finally in a new month!  This week’s menu is more enticing to me than last week’s.  Here […]

Leave a Reply

