• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Menu Plan Monday

Menu Plan Monday

As menus go, this week’s is not very exciting.  We are at the end of a very long month, and I can tell it when I look at both our pantry and our grocery budget.  However, as Steady Eddie reminded me just this evening, this is the first month since I’ve become a SAHM that we’ve managed to put a nice little bit of money into savings and leave it there.  Mind you, I know the month isn’t officially over yet, but since I do have a menu plan in place, barring some emergency, we should be able to come out this month completely on top and with a little bit of money socked away.  On top of all that, this month I have brought in NO income because I’m taking this semester off from teaching.  I’ve been a little anxious to see how it goes without my paltry little check, and while it is a tight squeeze, I can see that through God’s goodness and a little bit of discipline, we can make it.  Thank you, Lord!

Here’s the boring but necessary menu plan:

  • Monday–homemade chicken pot pie , green beans
  • Tuesday–pinto beans, cornbread, chicken rice (prepackaged)
  • Wednesday–leftovers
  • Thursday–fundraiser dinner at my parents’ church
  • Friday–some sort of homemade pizza

My only fear now is that once we roll over to February and have a replenished budget, we’ll be so excited that we go out and buy all sorts of treats and sabatoge ourselves early in the month!  : )  (I’m really only half kidding.)  Seriously, though, I’ve thought of all sorts of things I want to eat right now.  That’s the way it goes, isn’t it?

What’s on your menu this week?  For more great menus, check out I’m an Organizing Junkie

3 Responses

  1. It all looks yummy. Maybe I’ll just cheat and keep it easy by copying yours. We plan on eating lots of beans and cornbread for awhile.

    ((hug)) Yes, the Theones (sp?) are my favorite. I’m trying to read everything they’ve written but it’s been slow going as I read and study so much homeschool material. I have one of their books now on my bedstead waiting for me.

    Blessings to you.

  2. Great Menu, thanks for sharing 🙂

    My Menu Plan

  3. Amy,

    We just sat down to review and revise our budget the other night, and I saw that I need to cut back on grocery spending. I thought I was doing pretty well, but know I can do better. Thanks for sharing your experiences with this!

Leave a Reply

