• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Second Family Memorization Challenge

Wow!  My girls really surprised me by how quickly they learned our first challenge chapter!  After about three weeks, Lulu knows Psalm 1 cold, and Louise can say it with a little prompting at verse changes.  I am so proud of them and thankful that this is something they seem to enjoy doing.  We started learning Psalm 23 today.  To begin with, I am choosing basic scriptures that are often memorized.  I plan for us to continue this indefinitely (until Jesus returns!) and learn some lesser-known (or maybe lesser-memorized is a better way to put it) scriptures as well. 

Here is our second memorization challenge chapter:

1.  The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.  2.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, 3.  he restores my soul.  He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  4.  Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.  5.  You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.  You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.  6.  Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.   Psalm 23 NIV

3 Responses

  1. I’m enjoying reading about your family’s adventure in Scripture memory. I have a 2 y.o. dd. We started this year teaching her Eph 6:1 “Children, obey your parents in the Lord for this is right.” Now we are working on Eph 4:32a I can’t quote it at this point but it is about being kind.

  2. […] been homeschooling all along (after all, we spend at least a small portion of each weekday in scripture memorization and a larger portion in reading aloud), we have gathered a little corner of our morning into […]

  3. […] , In Step with the Spirit 0 Comments Scripture memorization is one thing that we have worked hard at and struggled with, alternatingly, since Lulu was old enough for it.  Now that both girls are old […]

Leave a Reply

