• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Menu Plan Monday

Menu Plan Monday

I’m not overly excited about menu planning this week because A.) sometimes even I get tired of cooking and B.) we’re reaching the end of a very, very long month in which both the grocery budget and the pantry are getting frighteningly close to empty.  However, I will brace up and carry on.  After reading so many blog posts last week on dealing with weariness in the quest for frugality, I know what I must do. 

Monday is a holiday for Steady Eddie, so he and I have a date in the afternoon!  He is taking me to a matinee showing of the movie Enchanted.   We also have lots of shopping and errands on our list of things to do tomorrow.  The girls will stay with their nana and not even miss us one little bit.  In addition to this, Monday night is my quilting night.  Because we won’t be home much at all during the day, I am not planning to cook anything at all on Monday.  (Gasp!)  Steady Eddie and I will either eat sandwiches or we will grab a quick bite out.  (Hey, I didn’t say we had this frugality thing completely licked, did I?)  In addition to this unusually busy Monday, this coming Saturday I am attending an all-day crop, so my week is actually only four days long this week!  Steady Eddie and the girls will likely go visit his grandmother on Saturday while I’m cropping, and they will eat lunch (and maybe even supper) with her.  Despite the fact that it is a short week, I’ve had to be somewhat creative because our cupboards look a lot like Old Mother Hubbard’s.

  • Tuesday–baked chicken breasts, mashed potatoes, green beans, rolls
  • Wednesday–spaghetti pie, homemade French bread, salad
  • Thursday–leftovers
  • Friday–homemade pizza

What’s on your menu this week?  For more great menu ideas, click over to I’m an Organizing Junkie!

5 Responses

  1. It sounds wonderful! I love spaghetti pie and I make homemade pizza a lot too 🙂

    Have a great Monday 🙂

    My Menu Plan is up too!

  2. Looks like a good week. Thanks for sharing your plan.

    MJ

  3. have a great date and week!

  4. I hear you about being weary about doing a menu plan this late in this month. January is always hard.

  5. Sounds like a good plan to me. I am all about simple these days.

Leave a Reply

