• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

“SOUP”er Savings Saturday and Some Questions

soup

No, I’m not writing a tribute to Andy Warhol, but I am singing the praises of my sweet, wonderful husband who has really gotten into this coupon-clipping, penny-pinching grocery store shopping game in a BIG way.  Thanks to his resourcefulness (and his daily checking of message boards like Slick Deals and, of course, Money Saving Mom), we managed to buy a dozen Campbell’s chicken noodle soups at Target for 35 cents each!  This is a real bargain to us because Lulu LOVES chicken noodle soup (or at least she did last week).  We purchased the soup on sale for 2/$1.20 and then used 50 cents/2 coupons to further reduce the price.  Our total spending on this nice little stack of soup was a mere $4.20 + tax.  This is but one example of the way that simply paying attention to what is available will enable you to reduce your spending.  Of course, it helps to have a husband who enjoys the game!  How does your family work as a team to reduce your expenditures?

On a related note, how do those of you who are on tight grocery budgets work bargains into your budget?  Do you allow a little bit of “fudge” room for those great deals you can’t pass up?  Do you budget a little more money than you actually need just so you can stock up on those great deals? 

 To read about more “Super Savings,” click on over to Money Saving Mom!

6 Responses

  1. I have a set monthly food budget. That way, if there’s a good deal one week, and I need to spend a little more that week- I know I can, but I’ll cut back the next week. I hope that makes sense!
    My husband I work as a team by just not buying lunch out, and when one of us wants to go out to eat (unplanned) we’ll talk the other one down from the ledge 🙂

  2. I found you from MoneySavingMom.com You got a great deal!

    I’m just beginning to coupon, but we have made it a family hobby. My boys clip & sort the coupons. I do the research & make the “MASTER PLAN” Sweet, awesome, handsome, adorable husband goes shopping with me on Sunday.
    Coupons have changed the way we shop. It’s not a browse through the store & pick out whatever we want ordeal. It has become a treasure hunt of sorts. Shopping is much more relaxed & we laugh and play and flirt (and drive the other customers crazy, I’m sure!)
    Then we come home and set up photo shoots of our “haul.” This is weird.

    I haven’t been doing this long enough to give advice about budgeting. This week, I’m testing out this method : $35 in cash to spend on this week’s needs – milk, meat, bread, produce. $100 to stockpile future food/household. I think this is the best plan so far. If I don’t spend the whole $100, I’ll save it for next week.
    I’m excited to hear what other people are doing, maybe I can get some advice on the best way to budget.

  3. My family is just me and SO (and two dogs) right now. Unfortunately, he’s a spendthrift and I have to be forceful when it comes to budgeting. I’m hoping he’ll be ‘enlightened’ soon.

    As far as working the deals into my budget, I usually only the do the deals if it’s meat. That seems to be our biggest expense. I just cut back on other things that week in order to get the deal. So far, so good. My freezer has been full since November and I only needed to supplement it with ground beef.

  4. I’m new at this, but I feel like if I stockpile the good deals whenever I can it will cut the bill down in the long run. That is something I have always done, even before I started this whole couponing thing. And it really helps…especially if you have a lean week because of some unforeseen expense…there’s always something to eat in the garage!

    Anyway, we’re shooting for 100 dollars a week, and so far the stockpiling has sent me a bit over that, but I know as I have more necessities stockpiled I will be able to stay under, even while stockpiling other things. Hope that makes sense!

  5. I too, found you from moneysavingmom (found her from my sister!) I just started ‘playing the grocery game’. So far, in 4 trips to 3 stores, I have saved over $200 and still have $10 ECBs for Cvs and $10 RR at Giant Eagle. Also, will be getting $32 in rebates. Unfortunately, it was not ALL necessity items, but will either become the beginning of my stockpile or be donated to the assisted living home I worked at 5 years ago. I know from experience how much needed and appreciated lotions, soaps, and shampoos will be there! My husband is amazed at the free or almost free stuff I have gotten and has bragged at work about it! For the first time in a LONG time, going to the store is fun! And for the first time in my married life (12 yrs, 3 boys later) I am going to pear down my grocery bill to $100 a week. Last week I did pretty good w/a trip to Save-a-lot for $60 and 6 days worth of dinners (without many extra snacks and almost no household items) this week I’m running around $125 oop, and a lot of extras. I got carried away w/ deals and bargains! lol They were too hard to pass up! So now I need to get myself to a happy medium where I can figure on dinners AND the other stuff for around $100. We have a few goals for this year- one is to start the envelope system (money set aside for certain things-groceries, clothing, eat/take out, entertainment, etc) and to start a christmas club for this year (have some catching up to do on that), a vacation fund, monthly $ into kids bank accounts, and by March to get my paychecks direct deposited into savings. THat will be a big difference. All that and will still have extra to decide what to do with. It will be a HUGE difference to finally budget ourselves…but he seems willing…so far! lol

  6. […] last week’s Super Savings Saturday carnival hosted by Crystal at Money Saving Mom, I asked the questions  How does your family work […]

Leave a Reply

