• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Kitchen Tip Tuesday–Letting Dough Rise in the Oven!

Kitchen Tip Tuesday

I really can’t take credit for this tip at all because I saw it on the Food Network’s Good Eats with Alton Brown.  I don’t watch much television at all, but I do try to watch either television or a movie if I have any scrapbooking time without the girls at home.  Last week the girls went to their Nana’s and I scrapbooked while I watched this show.  I was tickled when I saw that one of the night’s episodes was “Dr. Strangeloaf” and it was all about bread making.  This was perfect for me because I got a bread machine for Christmas!  While I enjoyed learning all the chemistry behind yeast and the rising process, the best tip I got was how to create your own warm environment.  I don’t always have a warm place to let my dough rise (if I’m not using my bread machine).  Alton Brown did it this way:  he put a shallow pan of very hot water on the bottom rack of the oven and then placed the container of dough on the middle or top rack (just above the water).  This allows the dough to rise quickly and stay moist. I used that very trick when I made chicken pesto pizza (which I rave about here), and it worked perfectly!

For more kitchen tips, head over to Tammy’s Recipes!

7 Responses

  1. great tip and the chicken pesto pizza sounds great!

  2. I’m going to try that pizza! It reminds me of this yummy recipe.

    http://mrspear.blogspot.com/2007/07/chicken-breasts-stuffed-with-pesto.html

  3. I have always just risen my bread in the oven at a low temperature (150 or so). It works great every time. I have never had a problem with it drying out or anything. Of course, I let it rise once on the counter and then once in the oven before baking. I just posted my bread recipe today, so it is funny that you should be talking about it too!

  4. I use my oven too – I have not tried it with the hot water though – I bet that would help the air stay moist. Thanks for the tip! The recipe sounds wonderful!

    Blessings,
    ~Martie

  5. Amy,
    I have always done this and found it so helpful! It does create the perfect environment. I have found it very helpful when I need to quick rise something as well. 🙂

  6. Do you need to warm the oven first or is the warm pan of water sufficient?

  7. Kim,

    You do not need to warm the oven (if I remember this correctly-it’s been a while since I’ve used this method). The warm water under the pan (on the lower rack) will provide the right amount of heat and moisture.

Leave a Reply

