• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Daily Scripture Share

Bible and Roses

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.  Against such there is no law.    Galatians 5:22 NIV

Remain in me, and I will remain in you.  No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine.  Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.    John 15:4 NIV

The Lord impressed upon me a month or so ago the importance of meditation to quiet my spirit and help me to get a handle on myself and my day.  While true meditation is not something that comes easily for even someone who is naturally introspective, I am making a concerted effort to do this.  The first verse listed here is the one I first felt impressed to meditate upon.  Those sound like lofty goals, don’t they?     Patience?  Gentleness?  Self-control?  I’m sorry, but I don’t always have the resources to practice those virtues.  I am so thankful that this is where the John verse comes in.  God does not expect us to manufacture these things on our own.  Hallelujah!  He only expects us to abide in Him, and the rest will follow.  All we must do is abide in the Vine.  Thank you, Lord. 

Leave a Reply

