• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Frugal Friday–Natural Oven Cleaner

Frugal Friday  It’s Frugal Friday over at Biblical Womanhood, and while I certainly do not consider myself an expert at all on frugality, I am trying to make small decisions that reduce our mouthly outgo.  Since I have declared January The Month of the Kitchen in my home, I knew it was time to finally tackle the oven which was in dreadful condition after too-long-to-mention between cleanings and several boil-over episodes.  I wanted to try something besides a commercially available cleaner with its harsh fumes and unnecessary cost, so I “googled” natural oven cleaner and came up with a plethora of options, most of which contained baking soda, salt, water, and vinegar in some combination or another.  I really did not follow any specific recipe after the first application.  What I ended up doing, which I think was actually the most effective, was dumping a layer of baking soda on the bottom of the oven and spraying it with a 50/50 solution of vinegar and water.  This achieved the nice reaction of foaming and boiling you usually get from mixing baking soda and vinegar, only it was much reduced because of the added water.  I left this on the oven as long as patience would allow, and then I cleaned it off.  Actually, Steady Eddie cleaned it off, since he had gotten home by then and he is my right-hand man when it comes to cleaning and homekeeping.  We finished this cleaning off with a short cycle of self-cleaning.  The oven is still not PERFECTLY clean, but I am trying to let go my perfectionism, so I am happy with it.  Besides, it is an old oven and was probably not perfectly clean when we first moved in. 

2 Responses

  1. What a great idea! I use the vinigar and baking soda for my drains but did nto think if using it for my oven. I will have to give it a try.

  2. Great idea! I’ll try it–oven cleaner really scares me.

Leave a Reply

