• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Kitchen Tip Tuesday–Kitchen Organization

Kitchen Tip TuesdayI was tickled when I read on Tammy’s blog that this week’s kitchen tip didn’t have to be a tip at all, but rather, a request for one.  I am declaring the month of January the month of the kitchen, which means I’m going to work on making my kitchen what I really want it to be–organized, efficient, comfortable, pretty, and clean.  Steady Eddie and I did some major overhauling of a few of the cabinets during his Christmas vacation, but it is still far from where I want it to be.  One of my biggest problematic areas is the pantry:

cabinet               

The pantry (this is only the upper portion; the bottom now holds large containers and small appliances) is deep so that packages of snacks, bags of chips, etc. easily get lost back there.  There is really no organization to it at all.  What I really need is some way to organize the little containers of things that get lost so easily, as well as make the pantry easier to see into somehow.  It’s at just about eye-level, so looking into the back of it is impossible without standing on a chair.

 The other most problematic area is the gadget drawer:

drawer

It is just a hodge-podge of measuring spoons, a small cutting board, a grater, a couple of small strainers, mixer attachments, etc.  I envision putting my measuring spoons into some sort of container (maybe a little tray or something), but I really have no idea how to go about organizing the rest of the stuff.  As you can see, both areas need help!

So this is my question:  what suggestion(s) do you have for me in making these two areas of my kitchen both more efficient and more organized?  I am open to anything within reason (‘though I already know that getting rid of the junk food in the pantry cabinet would half-way solve my problem!)

Are you a whiz in the kitchen?  If so, head on over to Tammy’s blog to offer your help to other bloggers!

10 Responses

  1. Good luck! Deep cupboards are hard w/ snacks… you are right, stuff just gets lost. I have the same problem.

    I suggest two things… first, I’d get some shelf things that hang on your shelf and make a second shelf underneath. I hope that makes sense. I think part of your problem is that the shelves are pretty far apart, which is useless when you are trying to store puddings and packets of things. Also, I’d suggest attaching organizers to your cupboard door itself. This way, you’ve got more space for small items, and they take up the first several inches of the shelf from the front. The food actually sitting on the shelf can start further back and you’ll still be able to see it.

    Good luck!

  2. I invested in some cabinet pullouts this past week. I found them on sale at a local big box store. January is typically a month of getting organized and stores in my area have sales on those organizing things. I call it an investment because it is to help make my life a little bit easier and more efficient, giving me much needed time (a valuable asset these days). The pullouts have a base that screw into the bottom of the shelf and a sliding part fits on top of it. It makes the back of the shelf items more accessible. This is such a tremendous help to me, as I’m barely 5 feet tall and have a great deal of difficulty getting to the back of any of my cabinets. Hope this helps.

  3. NOW is the time of year, to purchase storage type containers!! My suggestion is to go to the dollar store and get you some plastic baskets!!! I went to the dollar store and got a basket to hold all those open bags of snacks. It is now called the “snack basket”. You can read more about here…http://glimpseofsonshine.blogspot.com/2007/08/snack-basket.html

    For my gadget drawer, I got some white kitchen drawer organizers that look something like this…http://www.organizeit.com/po2clrdraworg.php . You should be able to get something like this at Walmart.

    As for not being able to see into the back of the shelf, I am not sure how to totally solve that problem. I used to use a wire shelf(like what you would sit in the freezer that didn’t come with a shelf) and then sit it so it sat to the back of the cabinet so that the things that I put to the back of the shelf would be raised up and seen better. I took the shelf out cause I set up a pantry in my basement and eliminated alot of the food type items in my kitchen cupboards.

  4. I kid you not it was like I was looking into my pantry while looking at your pictures. I cannot for the life of me get organized. I don’t even actually have a pantry – it’s more like a cupboard, but it makes it impossible to be organized. UGH!

  5. My suggestion would be to limit your purchases and your pantry storage to only what you will eat that week. If you prefer buying in bulk, or when there are sales, store only 1-2 in your pantry and keep the rest in a large box in the garage. This will make it easier to find things, and prevent things from going bad (as would happen in a deep storage area). You would also be able to keep it more organized. Hope that helps!

  6. I bought a bunch of the rubbermaid shoebox containers (do you know what I mean?) and labeled them all: canned meat, fruit cups, baking supplies, ETC. Whatever works for you. It helps a ton with the smaller stuff and I can find it really easily. They can fit normal sized cans in perfectly, and I keep the containers full and leave extra in the garage in the food storage shelves. The bigger stuff has its own spot in the pantry on a different shelf from the containers. Helps a ton!

  7. I want to get some drawer organizers for my own gadget drawer and I agree with pull-outs. I got a nice one at the Container store — it was expensive but it fit my needs.

  8. 1. Weed out everything you don’t use very often. Get rid of it or store it somewhere less accessible.

    2. Categorize. I also like rubbermaid boxes. Put like things together.

    3. If you can’t fit everything, expand–try a baker’s rack or something else simple and cheap.

    Good luck! I live in a tiny apartment and half my kitchen stuff is in the bedroom closet. I’m looking forward to that changing soon.

  9. […] Clean out my gadget drawer and organize it.  Read more about this here. […]

  10. […] last week I solicited my readers’ opinions about organizing this cabinet, I thought I’d follow up this week with pictures of our solution.  I ended up with this […]

Leave a Reply

