• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Kitchen Tip Tuesday–Salt Dough Ornaments

Kitchen Tip TuesdayThe older I get, the most I love homemade things.  I used to want my Christmas tree to look like one in a designer magazine, but now I prefer the sentimental, old ornaments and decorations.  However, since my children are both still small, I don’t have many truly handmade ornaments.  This year I decided to remedy that.  Since I know that both of my girls like to help in the kitchen, I thought we’d try our hands at making salt dough ornaments.  This is the recipe we used:

Salt Dough

1/2 c. salt

1 c. flour

1/2 c. water

Prehead oven to 250 degrees.  Mix three ingredients until dough forms.   Knead dough until elastic, adding more flour if the dough is too sticky.  However, be careful not to add too much flour as this will cause your ornaments to crack. 

Roll out the dough to approximately 1/4 inch thickness.  Cut out your desired shapes with cookie cutters.   Using a straw, “punch out” a hole for the string or ornament hanger. 

Place shapes on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for two hours.

Allow to cool thoroughly.  Store in an airtight container.  Decorate as desired.

 We found the dough very easy work with.  After baking the ornaments, we had to wait several days for an opportunity to paint and decorate them.  We painted them with tempera paint and used glitter glue to further embellish them. 

Here are some of our finished pieces:

star ornament  gingerbread man salt dough ornament

They’re not delicate glass ornaments, nor are they artistically painted pieces, but they are ours!

For more kitchen tips, head on over to Tammy’s blog!

3 Responses

  1. Great idea!

  2. I love your ornamnets. I am planning on making some this year. Hopefully! 🙂

    Blessings,
    ~Jane

  3. Made those when I was little. Shared them when my children were little…we still have them. 🙂 Now I get to share with a Grandchild. Tried and true and they last…cover them with paint though so little ones do not eat them! They will! We use equal parts salt and flour and just enough water to make into a dough. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

