• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

The Words, They Come Back to Haunt Us

Isn’t this so true in parenting?  Who hasn’t heard her own voice in miniature pipe up with some replayed comment from earlier in the day?  Like a bad VCR that only records the regrettable, my children remind me of just how imperfect I am.  This happened to me just a little while ago.  Lulu and Louise were playing happily in the living room while I worked in the kitchen.  Last week was a particularly trying week for me due to Steady Eddie’s work schedule, and I confess right here and now to you, my dear reader(s), that I lost my patience completely with my children a couple of times.  We have already established that both of my children are tireless inquisitors, so at one point in an extremely exasperating morning, I told Lulu, “No more questions!”  Fast forward to today when Lulu repeated this same command to her little sister, Louise.  All I could do when I overheard this was sigh into the dishwater and ask God to forgive me for my harshness to my own precious children.  My only hope for raising my children to live better than I ever have is through God’s grace and help.  I know this, but so often I find myself pulling from my own reserves, which are scant and shoddy at best. 

Lord, please help me to remember every day to ask you to be my partner in parenting.  I know how important this job is–the most important one on earth–and the magnitude of the task so often overwhelms me.  Help me remember that you are always there to give me strength, courage, and wisdom.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” — II Corinthians 12:9

But he gives us more grace.  That is why Scripture says, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”  –James 4:6

Leave a Reply

