• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Soup-tacular Friday

When I read on BooMama’s blog that she was hosting a blog carnival dedicated to favorite soup recipes, I knew I had to participate.  Soup of ‘most any kind is my favorite meal-in-a-bowl.  I love that it requires little accompaniment and that most recipes make large enough quantities to have leftovers of the kind that my family will eat.  I am posting two of my favorite recipes.  I chose these recipes because my whole family likes them and I think they are fairly unique in taste.  I got the White Chicken Chili recipe from an old, old thread on one of the  scrapbooking message boards on  Two Peas in a Bucket.  The Curried Chicken Chowder is from a complimentary copy of Diane:  The Curves Magazine I received when I joined Curves several years ago.  I no longer work out at Curves, but I still enjoy the soup!  While both recipes call for using prepared rotisserie chickens (purchased in a store deli), the recipes could be made more economical by using cooked chicken breasts or a whole chicken you’ve cooked yourself (I’m partial to Tammy’s method).

White Chicken Chili

1 BBQ rotisserie whole chicken (or any other flavor)

2 T. chopped garlic

4 cans Great Northern Beans–drained and rinsed

2 cans chopped green chiles

1 onion–chopped

1 container mild, fresh salsa (You must use the fresh salsa found in the refrigerated produce section of your grocery.  Canned  salsa will alter the taste of the soup considerably!)

4 cans chicken broth

Saute chopped onion and garlic in whatever fat you like to use.  While these are working, remove the skin from the chicken and tear the meat from the bones.  Use both the light and dark meat for extra flavor.  Add the chicken, white beans, chiles, and fresh salsa to the pot.  Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil, mixing frequently.  Reduce heat to a simmer and add chopped cilantro if you desire.  Garnish with sour cream, avocadoes, and cheddar cheese.

Curried Chicken Chowder

1 T. canola oil

1 medium Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored, and chopped

1 small onion, chopped

1 small carrot, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 T. all-purpose flour

1 T. curry powder

1 t. ground cumin

5 c. chicken broth

1/2 c. chopped tomato (I use canned diced tomatoes.)

1 large potato, peeled and diced

1 lb. precooked rotisserie chicken, skin removed and cut into strips

Salt and pepper to taste

In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat.  Add apple, onion, carrot, and garlic and saute until tender, 5 to 6 minutes.  Next, add flour, curry, and cumin and cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Stir in broth, tomato, and potato and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and cook, at a gentle simmer, 20 minutes.  Add chicken strips and heat 2 to 3 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.

Enjoy!

7 Responses

  1. Thanks for the soup recipe. Stop over for my chicken velvet soup.
    Nan

  2. Your White Chili is similar to mine. I made it with ground turkey last night and it was just as good.

  3. I will save and try the curry chicken one as I am such a curry fan.
    Thanks!
    Diane

  4. Oh… I’m going to try the White Chicken Chili tonight… with Pioneer Woman’s olive bread on the side. Sound good? I think so.

    THANKS for sharing!! °Ü°

  5. HEY — WHITE CHICKEN CHILIL was a hit!!! Pioneer Woman’s bread on the other hand… well — let’s just say… I’ve got left overs… oh me.

    THANKS it was D-Lish!! I’m going to go rave about it on boomama’s site!!

    °Ü°

  6. The Curried Chicken Chowder sounds amazing!!! I emailed it to my sister, since she is a BIG fan of curry! I love curry, when it’s red and cooked with chicken from my favorite Thai place. So, I’m thinking I would love this soup! Thanks!

  7. Any recipe that includes a chicken the store already cooked is automatically my favorite.

    Looking forward to trying the curried chicken tonight. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

