• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Works for Me Wednesday

Works for Me Wednesday headerToday’s Works for Me Wednesday takes me back to last week when I was planning Louise’s second birthday party.  As I have already mentioned, I made the mistake decision when Lulu was a year old to both bake and decorate her first birthday cake myself, thereby throwing down the proverbial gauntlet.  When we asked the almost-two-year-old Louise what type of cake she would like, she initially said Cinderella.  Because we prefer to delay our foray into the world of mass marketed fairytales until at least, say, the ripe old age of three, we quickly made other suggestions.   Thankfully for us, two year olds are easily distracted.  She suggested a “turdle” as her choice of birthday cakes, and this one we encouraged (after a delusional period when I thought I could actually make a Mother Goose cake and throw a themed party).  When researching (read:  surfing the internet for) ideas about how to go about constructing this cake, it occurred to me that I might be able to use a clever little tip I had tucked back in the dusty recesses of overworked mommy-brain:  use an oven-safe bowl to bake a dome-shaped cake.  Perfect!  Also, I found this lovely specimen of a turtle cake to use as my model.  After consulting with the nice guy at our local cake decorating shop, I learned that yes, indeed, this can be done, but I might want to consider using a pound cake in order to have the proper consistency for my cake.  I hadn’t a pound cake mix at home, but I did have a regular boxed cake mix to which I added more flour, sugar, butter, and eggs.  Times for baking a cake in a bowl are approximate, and I ended up baking mine for about 65 minutes at 325 degrees.   It actually could’ve baked for another 5-10 minutes, but it was getting a little too brown on top by then, so I took it out.  This cake was actually one of the easier ones I’ve ever decorated, and while it’s not professional quality, I think Louise was pleased.  That works for me!

turtle

For more hints and tips to make your life easier, head on over to Rocks in My Dryer.

4 Responses

  1. Hey! Glad to see you’re blogging!

    The “turdle” cake is adorable! I once made a cake in the bowl like that…only mine was a hamburger. Very interesting. 🙂

  2. I think it looks great! Excellent job.

  3. Amy,

    Thanks for visiting my blog. This turtle cake is so cute! We’re planning to make a snowman cake for my son’s b-day next week. I found a darling design on-line that uses 2 round cake pans.

  4. […] second birthday cake, I actually solicited her opinion.  And I even wrote about it here and here.  I think this might be my favorite cake out of all I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

